We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stop for a fab food and an even better welcome”

BeckyJack's Food Shack
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Weeki Wachee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for a fab food and an even better welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had read reviews on this place before we left the UK so did make a point of visiting here. The welcome we received was brilliant, the beer was very cold and the food, really good, especially the blue cheese burgers. We sat outside and watched mostly locals come and go. It is real America, we went back before our holiday had ended and would go again. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BusterGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBeckyJacks, Owner at BeckyJack's Food Shack, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Howdie Folks!
Next time you hop over the pond, we will be waiting.
Enjoyed the praise!
Cheers,
Joe and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    89
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BeckyJacks- Weeki Wachee's second best attraction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Best fried fish ever! The atmosphere makes the food and overall experience even better. It's a must stop for great food after a kayak run down the Weeki Wachee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBeckyJacks, Owner at BeckyJack's Food Shack, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Can't beat the mermaids or the river!
We are in good company,
Happy to hear you enjoyed.
Cheers,
Joe and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hole in the wall ever!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Awesome! I am so glad we stopped here! Walked into the little shack and was very pleasantly surprised. All the staff was extremely welcoming and friendly. Gave great advise on all their different types of beer. Now in reference to their food, everything we ate was awesome. The homemade Mac and cheese, the 5 bean salad, crunchy chicken, blackened fish, the yellow fin tuna tacos, everything was awesome! We will definitely come back next time we are in Weeki Wachi. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBeckyJacks, Owner at BeckyJack's Food Shack, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Don't mind being a hole in the wall with your accolades.
Get back to WeekiWachee!
Would love to thank you in person.
Kim and Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Better be quick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Large portions for the price. This shack is small. Don't expect to sit around and talk while eating. If it is busy and your food is in front of you, you better be eating. expect to be pushed along by your waitress so the next table can be seated.

Food is very good, but staff wants you in and out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lexus873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBeckyJacks, Owner at BeckyJack's Food Shack, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Howdie! We know that it has taken us too long to respond. But hopefully you have returned and enjoyed your visits since. The service staff is trained to make sure you enjoy your meal and are happy with your experience. We apologize that you felt rushed, but as you noted, we are small and most likely had folks waiting for a table. Perhaps a bit of a hurried pace, but if you completed your meal, and do not wish to have dessert, paid your check, we assume that you are ready to leave. The folks outside will be sure to thank you.
Sincerley,
Joe and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We need a cute little place to eat in Weeki Wachee but this place is not the one.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stuffed cheese pretzel was soggy, onion rings were nice and hot, fish sandwich was terrible :-( I never heard of the fish they were using but it was thin and mushy. They used a heavy crunchy crumb on the fish but even that couldnt cover up the lack of flavor and texture. We also ordered fish and chips , the fries were great, the fish same as the fish sandwich, terrible. The crab cake the waitress boasted about tasted like it was a few days old, we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ikenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBeckyJacks, Owner at BeckyJack's Food Shack, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Sorry to hear of your bad experience. And I am late in responding.
I understand that you will not return, but if you do, please ask for Kim.
And when you are not satisfied with your meal at any restaurant, let them know.
I know little places like us appreciate the opportunity to correct during your visit.
Sincerely,
Joe and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BeckyJack's Food Shack also viewed

 

Been to BeckyJack's Food Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing