We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Restaurant w/Booths” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nellie's Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nellie's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: phone number (352) 596-8321
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average Restaurant w/Booths”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Service is good and food was too. Took a while to get waited on, but plenty of room & lots of room for parking outside. They have nice coffee cups there if you'd like to buy one as a souvenier for Weeki Wachee & the mermaids.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disgusting dirty place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Place was very dirty and disgusting. The salad bar was unattended near the front entrance door. The place was very dirty and we walked out before we were seated.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill Fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Service up, food quality down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have been going to Nellie's on 50 for about 6 years. When we first started going there, the food was great but the service was horriable. It was something that you just kinda expected and dealt with. They weren't rude or anything that would make you never go back, just really sloooooow, even with an empty dinning room.

Lately, the service has gotten good. Orders are taken in time and drinks are refilled etc. Unfortunately, the place has been almost empty every time we go. I imagine that with declining revenue, corners had to be cut to stay afloat. Since payroll in a restuarant is pretty lean anyhow, the food quality is the obvious place to make cuts.

The menue item that showed the lower quality the most for me was the burger. They still advertise it as the best burger in town on the menue but it really no longer is. While it used to be formed well and cooked well, now it resembls a preformed and frozen burger. It is still somewhat tasty but has that rubbery texture that you get from frozen processed patties.

We still go there because it is not crowded, you can get seated and served quickly, it is rather inexpensive and the food is still good just not as good as it used to be.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OhhWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Heard alot about Nellie's when first moved here. Had cold fried chicken and received wrong food. Never have been back

Helpful?
1 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You can actually get fruit and veggies at Nellie's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Possible to get a meal approaching home made here, but relies too much on processed foods, instead of fresh or chef-cooked.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nellie's Restaurant also viewed

 
Weeki Wachee, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing