We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Waldo Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waldo
killeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

On 8th of June I checked in the Sleep Inn (Waldo Florida). This was my third time at this hotel. I was traveling with my five year old daughter. Both rooms I was put into were extremely hot at entry, had dead mosquitos and small spiders underneath the bedspread. I was upset, grabbed my daughter and left with no receipt. I drove 38 miles from my destination (Raiford) to Gainesville for a night, checked in at another hotel 68 miles from my destination in Ocala FL the next day due to booking restraints due to events. I had pending charges from my bank for the hotel, which I tried to resolve with the Manager (Willie). He told me rudely to get w/my bank because I wasnt charged. I called my bank and they needed confirmation from the hotel to drop the charge to use towards another hotel. I called the hotel w/my bank on the line; Mr. Willie kept cutting the representative off before she could explain herself. My bank asked him for transaction #, which he said he could give because he had two customers. The representative asked if he could fax the receipt and he said he would but he hung up the phone before receiving the fax #. About 5 minutes after the phone call I stopped by the hotel to resolve the issue w/my bank on the phone. My bank asked if he could give them a merchant ID # instead. Mr. Willie told USAA the general manager of the store had the merchant ID #. I asked him twice how he did not have a merchant ID #. I suppose this enraged Mr. Willie; he began to yell at me. He told me to get the hell out of his hotel before he call the police and have me thrown out. I proceeded to try and stay calm by referring to him as Sir, which he said Do not call me Sir! He threatened to throw me out the hotel again and said look at my receipt. The woman that checked me in was there and quickly printed me a receipt. I left w/my daughter crying in the car because of what she heard. I have been in the service for eleven years and never have I been disrespected in such a manner especially in front of my child.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loudy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
30
18
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The room key didn't work so we were transferred to a different room. Everything was clean and well set up. Free wifi was terrible, couldn't get good enough connection to do anything. Staff, Garry, very helpful and went out of their way to make things ok. Breakfast free and lots of choices. Would visit again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary-Cherri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TampaBay
Level Contributor
106 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a newer facility located within a resonable drive to Gainesville. It is clean and well run and even offers a free breakfast in the morning. We'd stay here again.l

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pittipats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKE PLACID
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

The first floor accesible king-bed room was one of the best I've seen. Spacious enough that a wheeelchair moves around effortlessly. And the staff is extremely helpful. They do need automatic doors, though.

Room Tip: Room 102 , if disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM CITY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Recently stayed in the sleepy town of Waldo at the Sleep Inn. Overall the room was great with a flat screen TV. However, the bathroom could use some maintenance. The shower had grout and tile problems probably due to settling and gave the appearance of dirt and mold. Also the design of the shower was poor, they attempted a design that didnt require a shower door or curtain but lots of water ended up on the floor outside the shower stall. Otherwise the room appeared clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliwett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAYNE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Our daughters and grandson live near Keystone Heights, Florida. Would LOVE it if Sleep Inn would build a motel there, but since there is no place to stay in Keystone Heights, we stay here at the Sleep Inn at Waldo. The Sleep Inn is convenient and clean. The breakfast consists of make-your-own waffles, eggs, sausage, cereals, juices, etc. The room had a small refrigerator and a microwave. There is a small pool out back, but we've never used it. There is also a small exercise room. There is a safe in the room (extra charge), but we've never used it. The toiletries are lacking - one small bottle of lotion and only one little bar of soap. Better bring your own. There are only a couple of things I didn't like - the free wireless internet requires that you log in every day and accept the terms of service and isn't very powerful. I didn't have a problem with the laptop, but I had problems getting the signal with my IPad 2. The only other thing I wasn't crazy about was the price. I believe $80 for the area is a bit pricey. I guess it's because it is right on Highway 301, a major thoroughfare from north to south Florida. There is a Sunoco station right next door with an Arby's and Dunkin' Donuts inside. There is a Subway and Dollar General right across Highway 301 -- you will want to drive to those as Highway 301 is very busy. There is a hugh flea market across the road as well if that's what interests you. Gainesville is a few miles on up the road and Starke is a few miles in the other direction.

Room Tip: This hotel is two stories and there is an elevator, so all rooms are easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVRILEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is nice a clean and supports our veterans.

Room Tip: Call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldo
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Starke
BEST WESTERN Starke
#1 of 5 in Starke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
10.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Starke
10.5 mi away
Legacy Inn - Starke
Legacy Inn - Starke
#4 of 5 in Starke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#25 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
18.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Waldo Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Waldo Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Waldo Inn & Suites
Address: 17230 NE US Highway 301, Waldo, FL 32694-4612 (Formerly Waldo Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Waldo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Waldo Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Waldo Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing