We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Blue Anymore”

Edward Ball Wakulla Springs State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not So Blue Anymore”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Heavy rains have caused tannins to darken the water temporarily. Over all "blueness" of the water is way down in recent years. The Tallahassee sewage/ waste water treatment plant is 11 miles north of the park, driving distance. It's even closer, as the crow flies. Water not pretty enough to make me want to return. Sad, as I can remember how it once was.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    126
    17
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
314 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

It had been over 10 years since my last visit. They have improved the facilities a bit. Water was nice and cold but more importantly clean. Boys had a blast. Would recommend it and Oyster Point as places to take a break while traveling via I-10.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank edge8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place was the most beautiful and serene natural environment I've ever had the pleasure of visiting. It was once private property owned by Edward Ball before he realized how much money he could make off the land. The hotel was once his mansion - breathtaking. There are alligators in sight, although rarely close enough to encounter. They offer a river cruise where you can get up close and personal with the local nature. I saw alligators, snapping turtles, all kinds of birdlife, flying fish, and manatees. You can swim in the river and the manatee will come right up to you. They are huge but gentle creatures. It was an experience I will never forget!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank knepbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
298 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Our family visited on a rainy and chilly day, so we had a tour boat to ourselves. The guide was very knowledgeable and easy going, so we had a good chat and very personalized tour. We saw both manatees and alligators, in spite of the murky water, as well as a lot of other wild life. It is very sad that the waters are not as clear as they once was, mostly because of developments in the surrounding area but also up state we where explained. A great experience, and a must do when in this area. I am glad that this still is a state park, and I hope it will stay that way.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arnt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do this every year!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a group picnic and boat excursion recently and it was a great day. The park is small, with friendly staff and a comfortable lodge w/ac to revive in. The water is beautiful to see and experience from a boat, but a frigid 69 degrees, so swimming only for the strong of heart. The park fills to the crowded point in the summertime, so plan to arrive and leave early, but this place is so unique and requires a yearly picnic pilgrimage w/ friends. It's "The Real Florida" - a place that enables you to re-imagine the past.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ukester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edward Ball Wakulla Springs State Park also viewed

Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Edward Ball Wakulla Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing