We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding cuisine ”

The Edward Ball Dining Room
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
Price range: $0 - $17
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For a restaurant operated in a small lodge within a state park, the food far exceeded expectations. Prices are reasonable.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank khorst5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 312 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2019

Enjoying three nights at the lovely and historic Wakulla Springs Lodge, we decided to have dinner in the Lodge's Edward Ball dining room. While very sparse in terms of decor, the room does provide a sense of yesteryear while window-side tables offer a beautiful, relaxing view. We began our meal with the excellent Tomato Pie and the Cajun Seafood Gumbo, which was quite salty. For entrees, we ordered the Shrimp and Grits and the Jambalaya. While the former was quite tasty, the Jambalaya was so salty that it was inedible. When we were able to flag down the waitress (who neglected to inquire as to how the food was) and told her the Jambalaya was inedible, she said she would inform the chef and remove the dish from our bill. She did not, however, offer or suggest an alternative dish. As a consequence, I sat with nothing while my wife ate her dinner. Neither of us is sensitive to salt, yet we both found the Jambalaya to be so salty that it was inedible. A kitchen that obviously doesn't taste food before it's served and a serving staff that fails to even offer an alternative to a failed dish is not an establishment we would patronize.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Our lunch was very good - steak sandwiches generously topped with grilled onions and cheese. Service was also very good - we appreciated the refills of soda and iced tea.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank travlingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019

We had planned to eat dinner here, but our schedule changed. We ended up eating lunch instead.

We went on the first boat tour. After the tour we went to the restaurant to make reservations. It took several minutes to talk to someone, even though there were guests in the dining room. The lady, said we didn't need to make reservations for lunch that day. After we left, we decided to get some iced tea to-go, but we couldn't get any help this time.

The lack of service made us a little nervous, to eat here. But the menu looked wonderful, and I wanted to try it.

After our boys were finished swimming, we went to eat. It was about 12:30. There were a few more people in the dining room this time. There still wasn't an assigned hostess. It took a few minutes for someone to seat us.

Our server was very sweet. It just seemed like the service is very slow with all the tables. I am not sure if the slowness is a lack of experience, new wait staff, understaffed, or just not sure how to properly waitress. The restaurant is get really full after we get there.

I had the tomato pie, it was very tasty!. We also had the fish tacos, pulled pork on garlic toast, and the Philly cheesesteak sandwich. Everything was delicious! We had no leftovers. Everything looked to be made fresh, with quality ingredients! We got the key lime bar and coconut cream pie to-go. Both of those were wonderful too!

Overall the food is AMAZING!!!! You will just need to be patient, and have plenty of time to eat. We will go back!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KMB1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

We wnt here for Mothers Day and it was fantastic. They had a buffet that they offer on special holidays. The location is historic and they are doing a nice job of maintaining the location. Hotel and restaurant under new management and it shows. A lot of improvements. Be sure to take a boat cruise after! Swimming is great but COLD year-round.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edward Ball Dining Room also viewed

Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
 
Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
 
Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
Saint Marks, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Edward Ball Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing