We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wakulla Springs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wakulla Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Time to relax”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a remarkable place. No televisions in the rooms just peace and quite. This is the place you need to go if you just want to recharge, a step back in time. Take a couple of good books and just relax. The springs are a sight to behold, nature as it was before mans interference, I recommend the boat tour first thing in the morning, the sun rising over the river is breathtaking. We stayed three days and took the tour each morning. Once you arrive there is no reason to leave the park, the onsite restaurant is really good. The service can be slow but not unbearable and the food is excellent. We tried everything from the liver (not a fan of liver but tried a taste and it was actually very good) to the fried chicken (just a hint call ahead about 20 minutes before your arrival to the restaurant, it is fried fresh). My favorite was the blackend grouper my daughter could not get enough of the pastas. The downside is the Hotel was built in 1935 and everything is from the time, sometimes the key would unlock my door sometimes it would not, that said there was always somebody that would help open the room. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the room are upstairs, you can request a waterview room but really your room will be used for sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poorbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    141
    52
    27
    17
See reviews for
119
158
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you want to get away, this is the place - no cell phone reception (for us as least), no TV and no computer (they do have a connection, if that's what you want). The Lodge is a reminder of the 1930's and 40's, including a self operated elevator. Wakulla Springs is a reminder of what Florida looks like without development thanks to the developer who wanted it to stay that way. Take a boat trip and see alligators, manatees and birds of all kinds. The restaurant is good and reasonably priced.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinclair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The majestic Wakulla Springs Lodge, which is on the National Register of Historic Places, is a gorgeous example of early 20th century Spanish architecture. The lodge has about 30 rooms, a huge lobby and glassed in front porch facing the river. The dining room serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The lodge offers an excellent and varied menu and has a decent wine selection. Food is usually very good. This is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gr8GatorGirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge at the end of july. My family loved the lodge. Starting with platforms in the swimming area. We had a great time jumping and swimming in the swimming area.we took the boat ride and it was amazing learning about the wilderness area animals and plants.we actually like the lodge a lot but improvements are neededin some areas such as the spring viewing area they could buy nice chairs and tables. Rooms were roomy and we had no problems with the room . The restaurant food and service was good.we definitely will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupocoffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The lodge itself is beautiful. The rooms are large & some even overlook the spring. One of the staff members on the day we checked in was very unhelpful. The control for the a/c in our room said the batteries needed to be replaced. We asked the young man at the front desk for new batteries. He said that the controller in the rooms doesn't really do anything, so he wouldn't give us new batteries. My husband & I went to the nearest convenience store & purchased batteries, replaced them in the a/c controller & AMAZINGLY were able to operate the a/c in our room.

The remainder of the stay was good. We took the boat tour, which was fun & informative. We also ate at the lodge restaurant, which had very delicious breakfast, dinner was so-so here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. It is an enchanting visit back in time. My parents brought my siblings and me to tour Wakulla Springs via the glass bottom boats about 30 years ago. I decided to bring my family and while my kids (12 & 16) were unsure at first because there wasn't a tv in the room, they quickly adapted. They played checkers together and we ate at the restaurant. The food is very good at the restaurant and not expensive. The rooms are filled with antiques. The bathroom is accommodated with toiletries and soft, fluffy towels. Both our room and bathroom were LARGE. the architecture and accents are truly artwork. The concierge that checked us in is wonderful and truly loves what he does - it shows. We couldn't stay but one night but when it was time to go my daughter was asking if we could stay longer. She loved the boat tour the next day, although the glass bottom boats are in repair and we could not use those which was a disappointment. We still saw plenty of alligators, birds, plant life, wild life, manatees, etc. and Mahoney, our boat tour guide, was one of the most pleasant persons I've had the chance to encounter. We didn't have time to go swimming, but it is definitely on the list for a future visit. If you have a night or two to spare and are looking for a truly unique experience, it would be worth it to stay at the lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms are large, so even if you have a good sized group it won't be packed to stay in one ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellisimo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Our family of three adults and three children stayed one night in rooms 67 and 45. The lodge is "back to basics", so no TV or coffeemakers in the rooms and the Wi-Fi didn't really work for us. But we still had a wonderful time and in fact the hot water from the tap in the bathroom was sufficient for brewing tea and instant coffee in the room.
The rooms are very large-- lots of space so they will be great for longer stays, the closets are huge and were great for hanging all our wet stuff to dry.
We took the glass bottom boat tour in the riverboat tour, both good fun.
The hotel lacks extra staff, just one person on duty at the front desk but they were friendly and helpful.
The playground and hiking trails were splendid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southernrebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakulla Springs
9.6 mi away
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites
8.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
#1 of 2 in Crawfordville
278 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
17.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
13.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Tallahassee
Homewood Suites Tallahassee
#4 of 58 in Tallahassee
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakulla Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakulla Springs Lodge

Property: Wakulla Springs Lodge
Address: 550 Wakulla Park Dr, Wakulla Springs, FL 32327-0390
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Wakulla Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wakulla Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakulla Springs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Wakulla Springs is located in the Wakulla Springs State Park near historic Tallahassee, Florida. Considered a Florida architectural landmark the Lodge has been on the grounds since 1937 and is featured, along with the nearly 6,000 acre park and river, on the National Register of Historic Places. Surrounded by canopies of oak, hickory, and beech trees, the natural springs, and Florida wildlife, the Lodge offers an old southern feel and a peaceful getaway for family vacations and reunions, weddings anniversaries, conferences, and other special events. The Lodge also is a perfect retreat for artists, writers, or those that just want to get away from it all. Guests will be inspired by nature's beauty and serenity inside of any one of the 27 guest rooms which overlook the springs, park, and courtyard. In keeping with the Lodge atmosphere there are no televisions in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wakulla Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakulla Springs Hotel Wakulla Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing