We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Take a break at hotel Prins Hendrik at the Dutch island 'Texel' and enjoy a splendid nature of birds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prins Hendrik Texel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Prins Hendrik Texel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oosterend
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take a break at hotel Prins Hendrik at the Dutch island 'Texel' and enjoy a splendid nature of birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The small island of Texel, the Netherlands, has two sides: the touristic area at the North Sea beach with nice touristic villages (but don't mind the number of people) and the quiet area for bird lovers at the South-East side at the 'Waddenzee'. Hotel Prins Hendrik is situated at the quiet area. Enjoy the sound of silence! It is situated close to but not within the charming village Oosterend (don't mix it up with Oosterend on the island of Terschelling). On walking distance you have the best view on the seabirds, on the inside as well as the outside of the dyke. The hotel has clean rooms, not big, not at all luxurious, but with a good bed and shower (or bath) and good breakfast included for a fair price. Most important: it is very quiet with a nice atmosphere. Surprisingly, the restaurant has a good cook! Enjoy the sun-set, or even better, the sunrise with the birds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the second floor on the North-West side and enjoy evening sun. Relax on the nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We got a family room at the last moment (no discount though). Very friendly on the phone. Very friendly staff in reception, bar and restaurant. Clean and well maintained rooms if a little noisy. However, as everybody is there to rest, all was quiet at 23h. A very agreeable experience all in all

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mddrijver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A good hotel in a great location. Rooms decent, food excellent and staff helpful. We managed to book rooms at a good price which made the price of food and other essentials - beer - a bit of a shock to the nervous system. Great for birdwatchers, in February, but breakfast at 08.30 would not be early enough in Spring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located for a trip with birdwatchers. The location is next to a reconditioned wetland. The food is good, the rooms are big enough. Breakfast could be a bit earlier, if one does only want to start after breakfast. In summer you could do a few hours before toast and coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

we booked this hotel for a last minute escape with my husband, 2 sisters and their partners and 7 year old niece. For my niece an extra bed was placed in a large room with her parents. We also had to double rooms, one equipped for wheel chair excess.
We arrived early (1 PM) and 2 of the rooms were ready, even though check in time is at 3 PM. Instead of waiting for the room we opted to rent bicycles from the hotel and went for a ride. The owner of the hotel (Esther) was very helpful and trusting, without leaving a down payment we were able to take the bikes and enjoy the surroundings.
We had a great night sleep, with comfortable beds and spacious, clean bathrooms.
Breakfast in the dining room was very good with warm bread and beautifully prepared tables. When I went to pay for the room I had a problem with my credit card and the owner even offered to send me the bill and pay by bank transfer!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oosterend
5.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#2 of 11 in De Koog
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#1 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#3 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Molenbos
Hotel Molenbos
#4 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prins Hendrik Texel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prins Hendrik Texel

Property: Hotel Prins Hendrik Texel
Address: Stuifweg 13, 1794 HA Oosterend, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > Oosterend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oosterend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prins Hendrik Texel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Prins Hendrik is set in lush, green surroundings, right behind the dike that protects Texel from the sea. It has an in-house restaurant, on-site bicycle rental service and classic accommodation.The rooms have a small seating area, cable TV and free Wi-Fi available. Each has a private bathroom with free toiletries.Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet in Prins Hendrik Texel's restaurant. It offers a menu of meat, lamb and fish dishes in the evening for dinner.The national parks of De Schorren and De Bol are just within 1 km by bike from Prins Hendrik Texel. The ferry service to Den Helder is 17 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Prins Hendrik Texel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing