We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent food and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melody Inn - CLOSED

Melody Inn
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Swiss, American, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

One of the best steaks I have ever had. And my husband, who never ate veal, cannot get enought of it with the delicious sauce. Last, but not least, the cheese fondue is to die for! I love the atmosphere, makes me feel at home, they get to know there clientele, versus the chain restaurants. There has never been a visit that wasn't of perfection. Likethe service, the food was fantastic. I highly recommend that if you are in Vero Beach, this is the place to go. From the owner, Margaret, to the servers, Gwen and Samara, everyone is right there to take care of your every need.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vero beach
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good for German/Swiss Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

For a nice occasion when you don't mind a large tab. Some wait staff are good while others are not. Take your chances. Food is usually excellent and well prepared. Attitudes are very changeable too as chef can sometimes be overwhelmed.

Helpful?
1 Thank VBReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“authentic swiss french cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had 2 delicious meals at this restaurant in February. We used to ski frequently in Switzerland, and acquired a taste for Swiss cuisine. The first time we ate at Melody, we were prompted to do so after having read an article praising the restaurant in the local paper. It definitely lived up to the hype, food wise. The atmosphere is relaxing, but nothing to brag about. It does remind me of some of the restaurants in Switzerland, though. On our second visit, we were with 4 other people, two of whom have lived in Vero Beach for years, and since they frequently eat out, they know which restaurants are the best ones. They chose the Melody Inn as one of their favorites.
I had veal both times, and highly recommend any of the 4 veal dishes. The spaetzle is especially delicious. My friend loves the pickled beets. On Tuesdays the wines are half priced, and my glass of Kendall Jackson Merlot was only $4.50. What a buy! The entrees are very fairly priced for the quality of the food.
The location is VERY hard to find. The restaurant is hidden in a building with the name of the building on the outside. Even though we knew the address, we couldn't find the restaurant until we searched and searched. I suggest you ask for explicit directions when making your reservation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My brother took us here for dinner and what a surprise. I have lived in the Alps and have always fondly remembered the food. I treated myself to the Raclette appetizer, onion soup and Schnitzel. All that was missing was the yodeling. It felt like comfort food and was delicious. The wine selection was good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had a lovely meal at Melody Inn. The restaurant offers a fixed menu choice which included a very nice wine. I think the restaurant has a true connoisseur buying the wines. It has a huge seating capacity, but the front of the restaurant is quite pleasant and cozy.
Melody Inn can be a bit hard to find. We had a bit of trouble finding it, so an employee came outside and watched for us to make sure we could get there. Typical of the great service you will receive at this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melody Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing