We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melody Inn - CLOSED

Melody Inn
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Swiss, American, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Atlanta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My brother took us here for dinner and what a surprise. I have lived in the Alps and have always fondly remembered the food. I treated myself to the Raclette appetizer, onion soup and Schnitzel. All that was missing was the yodeling. It felt like comfort food and was delicious. The wine selection was good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had a lovely meal at Melody Inn. The restaurant offers a fixed menu choice which included a very nice wine. I think the restaurant has a true connoisseur buying the wines. It has a huge seating capacity, but the front of the restaurant is quite pleasant and cozy.
Melody Inn can be a bit hard to find. We had a bit of trouble finding it, so an employee came outside and watched for us to make sure we could get there. Typical of the great service you will receive at this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I have been wanting to get to this restaurant for some time now, were just sorry that we waited so long. The Melody Inn did not disappoint; the staff was friendly and helpful, the menu had lots of variety that appeals to just about everyone and most importantly, everything was really wonderfully prepared and presented and we really truly enjoyed it. I ordered the Filet Mignon, and she the Flounder- we ended up trying each others plate about 1/2 way thru and concluded that each meal was excellent in it's own regard. We especially enjoyed the appetizer, which was lobster stuffed mushrooms complete with a cheese filling- which was 5-star excellent. The menu is priced "fair" for the quantity and quality of the meals prepared, but feel that this is not your everyday work week kind of destination. This was a special occassion for us, so we indulged a bit. The decor is tasteful and quaint, it's perfect for couples, or even a small dinner party- it is reminescant of a quiet European cafe. Overall, a great destination, and worthy of the highest accolades.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wrenvander_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“If it were billed as Austrian home cooking and priced as such, rather than as fine dining--no complaints.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

While the interior is lovely we were greeted not by the aroma of fine food but by a slightly unpleasant odor, perhaps that of a strong cleaning agent. The menu was nicely varied and included several nice entree choices. The "summer menu", read early bird--available only from 5-6:00 PM--was priced at $23.95. It included entree, two sides, wine, dessert and coffee. However, though the food was well prepared all of our dishes, both entrees, all sides and the dessert were items we felt we could have ordered at big city restaurants for 30-40% less. My wife had pork loin Cordon Bleu with red cabbage and beet salad. We had something similar in a polish restaurant--also very good, for about $12. I had pork tenderloin medallions in mushroom sauce, again very good but no better or more unique than I've had at any number of pleasant neighborhood restaurants; my sides, roasted tomato stuffed with spinach and "rösti" potato were nothing really special. This exotically named potato dish was a glorified, slightly more delicate version of hashed brown potatoes. The chocolate sauce on our ice cream desert was somewhat special but the vanilla ice cream itself was not as good as several brands that might be purchased in your local grocery store. The coffee was good but not remarkable while the wines, a Pinot grigio and a Chilean red were both better forgotten and served in undersized wine glasses--not good enough that we wanted to finish either of them. Though sadly disappointed by the food the saving grace was our pleasant server.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reginald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

romantic, cozy tables, with delicious food and outstanding service. absolutly one of the best dining experiences that i have had in vero beach

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susicreamcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melody Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing