We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - Friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Vero Beach/I-95
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Vero Beach
1 review
“Good value - Friendly service”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is very good value. The staff is friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. This hotel is very good value. The staff is friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    53
    58
    40
    57
See reviews for
87
47
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manasquan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Once again, in need of tractor trailer parking and a pet friendly hotel, we had stayed here before and what a welcome back! The gentleman at the front desk remembered us, was extremely accomodating and friendly and made us feel like old friends. There is the standard $10 pet fee. The room was fantastic! Neat, clean, odorless, roomy! The beds had plenty of pillows, the furniture was up to date and in excellent condition. There is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the rooms and a complimentary breakfast is available. Across the street is a Pilot truck center if you need anything extra. Nice and quiet - spacious - comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel when in the area!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginny110411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The man at the front desk was very nice. It is across from a truck stop and everything else in Vero was full or more than $125. It was about $70 without tax and the only reason we did not travel further was we were having dinner with friends. The room had a strong smell of air freshener was strong but not horrible. The bed was actually comfortable. It was just seedy looking. The room was better than I expected because I was expecting something awful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoverobeach, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Vero Beach/I-95, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn Vero Beach. I am glad that you were pleased with your room. Thank you for saying that you found our front desk man to be very nice.

I would have expected nothing less of him, but it is always nice to hear.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of you review, the following action was taken:

• The front desk man was notified of the nice thing you said about him.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn Vero Beach. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vero Beach hotels

GGC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

The very first thing I did upon entering the room was to check the internet connection. It did not work. Upon calling the front desk, I was told someone would be there to assist. After about 15 minutes I had to call back. Then someone did come to my room. He saw that it did not work with my PC. He explained that the network was working fine and he even showed me that his computer did work.

But it did not work for me. (I had used the PC only 3 hours earlier along the highway, so I was very suspicious.) It turned out that the property had multiple access points with the same name. So it appeared that the connection between the network and the PC was "moving" and could not be sustained.

Upon explaining that I could not stay without being able to access the internet, this man told me that the charge for leaving early would be 50% of the room charge. WHAT?

He explained that I had "used" the room and that it couldn't be rented to anyone else. WHAT?

Then he explained that this was Howard Johnson's policy. I called HJ corporate while standing in front of him. They said this was not their policy, but the individual property's. So he was caught in a LIE.

I left and went to a nearby establishment, checked in, and accessed the internet with no problem. So much for my PC being faulty. I called the HJ property immediately and told the same man about the status. He still refused to do anything about the bill.

This is subjective, but it is my feeling. The man became arrogant and almost hostile. It couldn't have been his problem.

Well, as an innkeeper, the guests' problems are his problems. If he doesn't feel that way, he should not be working with the public.

To give Howard Johnson corporate proper credit, they did in fact refund the charge in full. Hopefully they also corrected the management problem at this property.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuanaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoverobeach, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Vero Beach/I-95, responded to this review, March 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn Vero Beach for your recent stay in our area. I am glad to hear that the Howard Johnson corporate gave you your refund in full.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon the receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Howard Johnson corporate was informed of your comments about them.

2) Management staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are, as our employees, to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn Vero Beach. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Very nice rooms. Clean and new. Hotel changed over all new beds in hotel while we were there. (May-2010) Very nice maids. Beds are very comfortable. Free Wifi, cable. Breakfast is very good. Prepackaged foods, cereal in small boxes, not bulk, Milk in small cartons, not gallon for all to share, bagels, donuts, oatmeal, muffins- all packaged. Juice, coffee, ect. Close to I-95, but was not loud at all. Pool was nice, Very happy with stay, will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingercmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I came to Vero for a job interview. Since I was only staying one night, I decided to save some money and book a cheap place. Well, that was a mistake. This place smelled like mildew. The room was drafty and cold. The furniture was dated and poorly maintained. I see no reason to stay here when there are similiarly priced rooms in nicer, cleaner hotels. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miumiu4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoverobeach, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Vero Beach/I-95, responded to this review, March 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn Vero Beach for your recent stay in our area. I hope that your job interview was a productive one.

Thank you for taking the time to give us review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Maintenance staff was appraised of your report of the room being drafty and cold and instructed to look into the matter and see if it could be helped.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training in meeting the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn Vero Beach. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We checked into this hotel because it is across the street from where my fiancee had business to attend to. It was a giant mistake. The staff were very unfriendly and the cleaning lady sent all 3 of her children into my room to vaccum it instead of doing it herself. My daughters shoes also went missing the following day. The pool was very small and just feet away from a dumpster. Overall it's too close to the road, the management was no good, and I ended up cancelling our reservations and switched to the holiday inn express. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkfilipina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoverobeach, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Vero Beach/I-95, responded to this review, March 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn Vero Beach for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) The staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which they, as our employees, are to treat our valued guests.

2) Management staff and housekeeping staff were informed that it is not appropriate for the staff members to bring their children to work with them, much less having them help with the work.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose Howard Johnson Express Inn Vero Beach. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vero Beach-I-95
0.4 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#15 of 27 in Vero Beach
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#11 of 27 in Vero Beach
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Vero Beach
Hampton Inn Vero Beach
#7 of 27 in Vero Beach
375 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Vero Beach/I-95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Vero Beach/I-95

Property: Howard Johnson Vero Beach/I-95
Address: 1985 90th Ave, Vero Beach, FL 32966-6621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Vero Beach/I-95 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Vero Beach/I-95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Vero Beach
Vero Beach Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing