We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I am in a wheelchair. The bathroom was very usable but there was mildew/mold on the ceiling of the shower. There were ants we had a very hard time getting rid of. The rugs were so dirty and old that it was hard to push my chair around aND THERE WERE DIRT STAINS ON MY SHORTS AND SKIRTS FROM THE CHAIR PICKING UP THE DIRT. (opps sorry did not mean to yell) The rug in the hall was so lumpy the chair would not roll straight, the doors springs are so tight it was VERY hard to open. The door cards kept needing to be replaced. Someone in a room close to us were smokers and they crashed the glass doors open and closed at all hours and the smell of smoke was strong. One of the lights in the room was out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank CLARE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 303 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 1toni1958
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank SCOTT C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Beal339
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

have stayed here several times before and it was great for the location we needed to be at for the weekend. This time it was full to the max and the thunder foot people up above us kept us awake. All in all it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank jupiter_girl00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is a great location for the value. Close by to eating places and 5 mins from the beach. Rooms were clean and simple. Walking distance to all the major fast food resturants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

your location is in need of pest control, both inside the rooms as well as outside/pool area - major problem with biting ants. Bed sheets were stained on the first night in one room, but changed next morning by housekeeping staff. Pool bottom spots of green alegea. Otherwise enojoyed the stay - great location, connecting rooms a plus

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank DVS1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojovb_gm, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for responding to the survey. I want to apologize for any problem that you encountered during your stay. We work with a reputable pest control company who does monthly inspections and spraying of the hotel. If you like to discuss this further feel free to call me at hotel and ask for Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
7.2 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#13 of 26 in Vero Beach
383 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#10 of 26 in Vero Beach
301 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Vero Beach
Hampton Inn Vero Beach
#9 of 26 in Vero Beach
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vero Beach-I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown

Address: 1725 US Highway 1, Vero Beach, FL 32960-5544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Price Range: $72 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach Hotel Vero Beach
Howard Johnson Vero Beach
Vero Beach Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing