We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nice stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    53
    72
    48
    46
See reviews for
81
58
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
JUPITER
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

have stayed here several times before and it was great for the location we needed to be at for the weekend. This time it was full to the max and the thunder foot people up above us kept us awake. All in all it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank jupiter_girl00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is a great location for the value. Close by to eating places and 5 mins from the beach. Rooms were clean and simple. Walking distance to all the major fast food resturants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POMPANO BEACH
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

your location is in need of pest control, both inside the rooms as well as outside/pool area - major problem with biting ants. Bed sheets were stained on the first night in one room, but changed next morning by housekeeping staff. Pool bottom spots of green alegea. Otherwise enojoyed the stay - great location, connecting rooms a plus

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank DVS1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojovb_gm, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for responding to the survey. I want to apologize for any problem that you encountered during your stay. We work with a reputable pest control company who does monthly inspections and spraying of the hotel. If you like to discuss this further feel free to call me at hotel and ask for Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is older and dated, but the bed and bathroom where clean, a short drive to the beach. Don't expect a room equal to a 100.00 hotel. Staff was nice and helpful. For the price I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakebrdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We didn't make a reservation, but since it was a Monday, they had plenty of rooms available. We checked in at around 7pm. The room they sent us to, was scary, worst then a motel room, it had a bad smell, the bed was way too small for two adults, but that was the biggest size they had and the surprise of the night, was the broken A/C machine, so noisy, that would make the bed vibrate.
We had to go to the front- desk early in the morning, after a night of non- sleep, the clerk was very understanding and nice to us, we got a different room, A/C working fine, clean, no additional smells and we got two beds now.
The whole experience ended up not being that bad.
The beach is 5-10 minutes away, 5 minutes away from Downtown VB, plus, there a lot of shops and restaurants around the hotel. I guess it's just an old hotel, you can't really blame anyone. Things would change a lot with some fixing here and there, cause' for the price you pay, you can get something better in other cities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank life_is_beuatiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The room was stuffy and moldy. I decided not to stay there. It was all the way in the back on the first floor. There were rusty chairs on view. The hallway was dark and dusty. I should have inspected my room, but checked in and right back out when I saw the inside. The desk clerk told me that it was the only room left, so he couldn't change it. Although I had made reservations in advance. I was charged for the night even though I couldn't stay there. This was a motel not even good enough for the homeless.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vero Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
7.2 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#16 of 26 in Vero Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#10 of 26 in Vero Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach - Ocean Front
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Vero Beach
Hampton Inn Vero Beach
#7 of 26 in Vero Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown
Address: 1725 US Highway 1, Vero Beach, FL 32960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Vero Beach / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Vero Beach Hotel Vero Beach
Howard Johnson Vero Beach
Vero Beach Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing