We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great sushi!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Sushi

Saigon Sushi
Ranked #21 of 313 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is by far the best sush in Vero Beach, especially if you like the real raw fish type. The fish is fresh and they cut nice long pieces the way the Japanese prepare it. Atmosphere is casual and nothing to write about but the food is great! We are snowbirds in Vero and eat here whenever we want sushi. They also have an extensive Thai menu. The food has been consistently great. The $50.00 sushi boat will serve 3 people easily.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CathyCraig1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    41
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Vero Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I was just driving by and saw the sign so I stopped in. I was going to order what I usually get anywhere but there was a lady at the bar who used to work there work there and she recommended the coconut curry soup and volcano roll. So I added that to my list of the usuals. Bottom line simply fantastic, fresh and flavorful food. The prices were fair and the portions generous. All this by accident. Will now make Saigon sushi a regular stop! PS the restaurant is small and was packed by 6 p.m. so get there early.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“You CAN Go Home Again!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

One of the marks of a great restaurant is its ability to maintain a highly consistent level of excellence over an extended period of time. One such establishment is SAIGON SUSHI in Vero Beach, Florida.

My wife and I first dined here over two years ago when I was invited to address the local Audubon Society chapter. We discovered the restaurant not by by anyone's particular recommendation but rather because it was in close proximity to the site where I was to speak. This "accidental meeting" has turned out to be one of the best culinary experiences that we have had .. and that includes highly rated, first class restaurants in France, Italy, Germany, Switzerland, Ireland and Belgium.

That evening we started the meal with steamed chicken and vegetable dumplings. They were pure ambrosia! The pastry portion of the dumplings was incredibly light and literally melted in our mouths. The filling was perfectly cooked and wonderfully seasoned, a spectacular blending of meat, vegetables and spices. The sauce that was served on the side was likewise light, aromatic and artistically balanced ... with nuances of multiple flavors that perfectly complemented the dumplings rather than masking their own subtle aromas and tastes.

All the courses that followed were equally sensational ... Pad Thai, teriyaki chicken, fried rice, calmari.

Two weeks ago I had the privilege of returning to Vero Beach to once again address the local Audubon chapter. This time my wife and I knew exactly where we were going to dine, although after an hiatus of two years, we had some concerns as to whether or not the restaurant would have been able to maintain its exceptionally high standards for quality, freshness, diversity and taste. That is, could we actually "go home again?"

No need for concern, we soon discovered. The ambiance and the staff were the same as they had been two years prior ... namely warm and inviting. So was the food.

We began our meal as we had previously done ... and were thrilled that the dumplings were as sensational as they had been. The Cantonese chicken that we both ordered reminded us of the memorable meals that we used to enjoy back in Pittsburgh where we grew up, and where we had been blessed with a world-class and authentic Cantonese Chinese restaurant. Here in Vero Beach, the chicken was tender, the vegetables properly cooked (lightly firm), and the sauce was so marvelous that we both ordered extra portions of perfectly cooked brown rice so that we could soak up every last drop of the colorful, beautifully falvored and balanced sauce.

All in all a wonderful dining experience ... again!

If in Vero Beach, Saigon Sushi is a MUST. You will not be disappointed if quality, innovative Vietnamese / Oriental dining is on your "menu."

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grusleucogeranus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've eaten here a few times with my father and stepmother, and every time the food has been delicious. It's a small local place, and not on on the obvious roads, so if my stepmother hadn't brought my family to it, we never would have found it. They have more than just sushi; there are plenty of Chinese/Vietnamese dishes. I typically get the teriyaki chicken, which is very, very good. The owners are very friendly. The restaurant is very small, though. You can probably fit about 20 people inside. The service can be slow at times, unfortunately, but that's the only bad thing I can think of.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mathdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
216 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great lunch and warm service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Saigon Sushi restaurant serves a wonderful array of Asian dishes, not just sushi as their name might imply. I had a delicious pad thai while my husband opted for a sushi roll. Both were very good and very filling. The service was very warm and welcoming, even on a very busy day. Definitely worth a visit if you're looking for Asian cuisine in Vero.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mek99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Saigon Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing