We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vero Beach Hotel & Spa - BAIT AND SWITCH.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I booked my reservation through Travelocity.com (#12388xxxxx2), we stayed at the hotel 3/8/2014, room 105, in your Ocean Suite King.

Upon arrival, the personnel we met were wonderful, we believed that our stay was going to be terrific; however, within one half hour we began to experience another set of circumstances which quickly change our hotel stay from exception to less than exception to BIG mistake.

The first problem was our room was not what we expected. While we did book an ocean front we were giving part ocean front and part dinning room/patio setting which obstructed our view of the ocean and worse no privacy for relaxing on the porch area.

In addition, the room we had was for handicap persons; this meant we were not getting a rain shower and bathtub, just a stand-up shower which was designed for a wheelchair/handicap person. Not the romantic escape we planned!

I contacted the customer relations desk, since the telephone connection was so static, I had to walk to the front desk after three attempts to resolve my concerns by telephone.

Upon arriving at the front desk, the receptionist was made aware of my call and concerns about the room; the receptionist informed me he needed to contact his manager to find a solution to my problem, then he went to the back office.

Several minutes later he returned with Ryan, a manager. I explained to Ryan that we believed we were given the wrong room since it was designed for a handicap person and no rain shower. He offered room 205 which was also a handicap person room. I did not want a handicap room, I wanted a regular room. Ryan asked me for my itinerary; I explained that I did not bring it since I called two days prior and spoke to a front desk receptionist who informed me that I did not need the itinerary, I only needed my last name to check in. Ryan acquired a mean arrogant attitude from the inception; I could feel his words slapping me in the face, his beady eyes could not hide his anger and disrespect.

Ryan agreed to contact Travelocity.com about my booking.

Ryan did contact me about 1.5 to 2 hours later with a copy/printout of my itinerary which included the words "accessible" which I did not know meant handicap. Ryan offered to move us room 205, we agreed. I believed the word "accessible" to mean, beach accessible. I have zero experience with handicap terms. Ryan also offer two complimentary drinks for our hassle.

Upon arriving at room 205, while it was more private, the room had a latent odor of people who smoked. We also did not want a smoking room since we are all non smokers.

We would sum up our experience as tragic; for $590 for one night, we could have stayed at The Breakers in Palm Beach.

When I planned this trip, I believed Vero Beach was going to be a great time for the family. In addition, my girlfriend and I were looking for a place to have our wedding, which we believed Vero Beach Hotel & Spa was a serious option; however, our experiences with our booking, the rooms and Ryan the manager were unacceptable.

In closing, Ryan stated that the hotel was full and he could only provide us with another handicap room. However, later that night, I looked at the rooms from the beach and discovered many unoccupied rooms. In hind sight, the smoke filled odor room, lies that the hotel was full and the two drink comp, Ryan was a complete idiot,liar and joke. I paid $590 for one romantic night in a room that stunk like smoke, which had a terrible bathroom.

Room Tip: Cobalt service terrible....I spent $120 for dinner for two, I had to ask for water and bread. Food w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Worth Avenue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan c, General Manager at Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Please accept our sincere apologies, the team was saddened to read your review and your feedback. Our Front desk team apprecaites the room confusion when you booked an accessible room but really did not mean to and being a sold out period of time our MOD could not change the room type you booked. Most Unfortunate. I have briefed the team on your feedback and hope you will consider us one more time. When would be happy to assist you. Thanks again for choosing us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

My daughter was married last week at Vero Beach. I had not seen it in person until the day before the wedding. I LOVED IT. The hotel is beautiful, beds are so comfortable, the the grounds are immaculate, the food is great, and the staff will make you their top priority. You can dine in the Cobalt restaurant or casual eating poolside. They also have huge firepits that look out to the ocean. It was a wonderful stay
and there is nothing for them to improve on....LOVED IT

Room Tip: You must get the ocean front. The balcony at night with a drink and that lovely view.....well, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan c, General Manager at Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

I was so thrilled to read your review, for your family to choose us for such a special time is awesome, the team was excited to hear your stay was enjoyable. Thanks for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spent a week at the Vero Beach Hotel and Spa. It was our first visit to Vero Beach and this hotel. We had a Studio Suite with an L shaped balcony. One section faced the pool area and the other the ocean. We were very pleased with the added balcony area, which is pretty unusual.
The room had a bedroom area as well as a large sitting area, two steps down from the bed/bath and as a result there were two televisions, which was nice. The bathroom was up to date and spacious.

We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast on the terrace at Cobalt. We had good weather so to sit outside looking at the water was just what we needed in February, after a horrendous winter in New England. One of many very good wait staff was Austin, a friendly and delightful young man.

We ate lunch & also dinner at Heaton's, by the pool several times during our stay. The view was mesmerizing and the service great. Waiters Bill and Will (just new to the staff at Heaton's during our visit) could not have been friendlier nor more attentive. We commented more than once that without exception the staff was happy, friendly and seemed to really enjoy their jobs.

There were a couple of staff just there to make your time at the pool and beach comfortable. Whether it was setting up umbrellas, chair covers or getting towels they were in constant motion asking if there was anything you needed.

Between the location, view and service we were very impressed with this hotel. We visited several along Ocean Drive and this was by far the most up-scale, clean and attractive hotel.
Add a fantastic staff and it is a recipe for return visits.

Room Tip: Corner suites which have L shaped balconies are bright and give you two views to chose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kronberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan c, General Manager at Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us, we certainly appreciate your feedback and are all pleased you had an enjoable stay, its is our mission for sure. Hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I planned a romantic night at this property months in advance by calling the hotel directly. I wanted a pet free room with a full ocean view (was told 4th floor) for Valentine's Day. We had a delightful lunch on the property and then checked in. The first room we were given was a handicapped, 1st floor room with a view of the restaurant and was not pet free. Upon complaining, we received a 3rd floor room, pet free, with what they said was a full ocean view. The view from the room and the patio was of neighboring roof tops and the pool area. There was a tiny 6 foot long balcony around the corner of the main balcony that had a full ocean view basically not viewable from inside the room. As it was quite windy and cool, this front balcony was only used briefly for eating breakfast. Our biggest surprise was a scheduled fund raiser fashion show around the pool directly below us that was SO-O-O LOUD we could not enjoy our room at all. We tried to hear the commentary on the TV for the Olympics but couldn't. I called the front desk numerous times to try and find a solution, but there was none. We endured this hideous noise from 6PM until 11:15 PM (this included "tuning" up the instruments - especially the very loud bass, broadcasting the show, and tear-down of equipment). Needless to say it was not a romantic evening but a war on our nerves. We had NOT been informed of this planned event upon reservations nor check-in and would have booked else where. The next morning I met with management and the issues were discussed calmly and when I was asked what the hotel should do - my reply was "NO charge." A room that cost almost $500 with tax, etc. should not have these hassles. When I told my husband that the room was "free" - his reply was "No, it was not. We EARNED it !!!"

Room Tip: Don't get a room over-looking the pool, especially during a planned event!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alicerabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan c, General Manager at Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Vero is such a special place and we love it. Be assured that we have a large selection of rooms to please and we welcome calls to ensure they fit everyones requirements. Valentines is a special time and once again we sad if you did not enjoy yourself whilst staying at the Vero Beach Hotel and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our family LOVES this place. We stayed at this wonderful resort last February. This Thanksgiving we were in Punta Cana at a luxury all inclusive and wondered why we didn't just make the trip to the Kimpton Vero Beach! It's quiet, luxurious, has a beautiful beach, very friendly staff (valets are the best people!) pool bar staff, and Andrew--We can't wait to return! Brian the manager did a remarkable job of handling the cancellations/change of reservations for people impacted by the winter storm. It required a slight change of our reservation- and with every phone call and question, he treated me like I was a friend. Thank you for being so nice! Give yourself and family a treat--book an ocean front room; you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan c, General Manager at Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Punta Cana sounds nice, so pleased you prefer us though, both Ryan and Andrew were super excited that you remembered them. Thanks for staying with us it means a lot. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Each and every time we head to Vero Beach, FL we ALWAYS stay at the Vero Beach Hotel & Spa. We started coming to this place when only half of it was completed and have stayed almost every year since and this past February was no exception. The feel of the place is like being anyplace in tropical islands and has a real relaxed resort feel to it. The pool area, the area in front of the beach, outside Cobalt and at Heaton's Reef all just speak relaxed get-away. The rooms are all amazing, but if you are going to stay here, I recommend one of the rooms facing the pool at pool level - these are the best by far.

A nice addition since we started staying at this hotel is the wine reception at 5PM where you actually get to meet others over complimentary wine and appetizers. I completed a survey that I received via e-mail following my stay suggesting to move the reception to a environment more conducive to mixing and mingling with the other guests (area in Cobalt, outside near Heaton's?) vs. the small environment in the lobby where you only get to meet who is sitting nearby. I have yet to hear back on the suggestion.

My only complaint is that the internet is slow on the North side of the building (side away from the pool) which I also noted on my guest survey.

My hats off to the management of the Vero Beach Hotel & Spa as you run an exceptional hotel with service that a cut above and seldom encountered in my extensive travels around the US and the world.

Room Tip: The rooms are all amazing, but if you are going to stay here, I recommend one of the rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEBAY711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan c, General Manager at Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

A Huge thank you for telling us how your stay was, also we love the feedback, we apreciate you staying with us and being so loyal, the team was so exited to hear - come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a business trip. I love the Kimpton chain and was so happy to find Vero Beach Resort & Spa for my trip. The service is outstanding and the property is pristine. The fire pits in the evenings were a treat. I only wish that I had time to visit the spa! I will definitely stay here on my next trip! The Vero Beach outlet mall was also a bonus with Restoration Hardware and Williams Somoma...you don't see those outlets everywhere! I will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbutticarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan c, General Manager at Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Cheers- we love you had a great stay, thanks for choosing us, Vero is a welcome escape, we thank you for tellling about your stay. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
1.8 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#8 of 26 in Vero Beach
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Vero Beach
0.3 mi away
Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: 3500 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963-1621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vero Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Vero Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range: $197 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful oceanfront property on Central Florida's Treasure Coast, the stunning Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa, promises a relaxing sanctuary in a charming seaside village of Vero Beach. With beautifully appointed guestrooms and fully outfitted suites, our Vero Beach resort offers the perfect weekend escape or destination vacation. Its exceptional service, thoughtful amenities and features like the welcoming pool or the two dining venues make this the ideal Florida getaway. Two Electric charging station's on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, Otel, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vero Beach Hotel And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Vero Beach
Vero Beach Hotel And Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing