We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TREMENDOUS”
Review of Chop House 88 - CLOSED

Chop House 88
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Chophouse in every sense of the word. Great Steaks, Fine Wines, Best Service, in a romantic atmosphere, with true value.
Clayton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“TREMENDOUS”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a cool place!** I could have eaten every dinner here this week in Vero, and cannot wait to go back. We were 6 at a round table tucked into an alcove. This was good because half the table cannot hear and the other half talk non-stop, so it felt very private. The Server has really mastered his craft, enthusiastically describing the specials and the preparations. There was a cool wine special: spend $25 or more on your entree (impossible not to do), receive a complimentary bottle of a nice Malbec. We took advantage of this! Interestingly, most of us did not have a "chop": I had the monk fish, which was extraordinary and the grilled romaine caesar salad exceeded expectations. Other entrees that we loved: all the salads, the french onion soup, the seared tuna, and the scallops. I will definitely return to Chop House 88 next time I'm in Vero! Bravo!
** If you are a fan of the Godfather movies you will love the ambiance and the clientele here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinghiale-13624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    6
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Special is a bargain”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Chop House 88 in Vero Beach is a very good place to eat. Food was excellent. But you need to make the visit on Sunday for the Sunday Special. The prices are on the high side the rest of the time. The $24.95 sunday special however does allow you to make a selecltion from the menu and it does include an appitizer or salad,, main course and a dessert. All of which are exdcellent. Give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ4073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food that will Rock Your Tastebuds!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife & I are locals here in Vero and almost every Sunday we have our "Date Night" at Chop House 88. On Sunday's the Chop House has a very reasonable dinner special that is second to none. They cook almost all of their meals on a Grill fueled by wood. A few of our favorites include the Filet and the Ahi-Tuna that are always cooked perfectly. Even your kids will love the Brussel Sprouts and want to come back for more! I'd be remiss not to mention their fantastic Wine list which includes highly rated wines - all above 88 Points or so that are priced very reasonably. The bar, restrooms, kitchen (yes I have seen it) and restaurant are immaculate. The service is terrific and the folks that work here are more like friends than restaurant staff. Go enjoy one of the best meals in Vero Beach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Palleschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Too pricey.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Sides were lacking taste..risotto and braised (burnt) Brussel sprouts not such a great option. Steak way underdone. Opted not to send back as it was my husbands birthday and his filet was perfect. Didn't want to wait on my meal to be corrected. Free bottle of wine night also...$40.00 bottle of Cab for free; glad it was free cause my pallet tasted a $15.00 bottle at best. Sorry but there is better, all around, in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NCKari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Prime rib Sunday!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We are locals who enjoy eating out more in the summer than winter because we don't have to compete with the "seasonal" snowbirds. The Chop House has become our favorite dining spot! The Sunday prime rib is the best ever! All of the "sides" are so yummy! It's so fun to eat at the bar and meet new people too. The seafood is fresh and soooo good! Try Thursday and Friday martini night with tapas

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaRVeroBeachFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing