We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Driftwood Resort
Nearby Hotels
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Vero Beach(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Vero Beach-West I-95(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Vero Beach(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$274
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Vero Beach(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
$129
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Turtle Inn(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
142
100
30
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
100
30
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaldo sextonhistoric hotelold floridastained glassfun place to stayred onionmain poolwithin walking distancefull kitchenliving roomcookie cuttersmall kitchenocean grillpull out sofalaid backbeach viewlemon tree
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 305 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent New Yearʼs Day wandering around Vero Beach. We wanted to visit the Driftwood Resort as we had heard about the place from our friends. It was a cold rainy day,so lunch indoors seemed like the thing to do. Waldoʼs restaurant had a great variety in itʼs menu. The green salad and tomato soup as well as the Mahi Mahi were perfect. The service was excellent and we did not have to wait long to be served and attended. Another bonus, their coffee is great! As a Canadian visiting the U.S.I have found that coffee in restaurants not particularly good. I like my coffee strong and most places make a very weak pot of coffee. Waldoʼs restaurant served excellent coffee. We enjoyed our walk around the property and the food was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runningalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were undecided, eclectic quirky Driftwood or Conservative Kimpton, chose driftwood, stayed in suite 111, the oldest part of the resort. We had 2 levels, 2 sitting out areas, spiral stairs from 1 level to other, 2 bathrooms & full kitchen, never stayed so close to the ocean, ate in Waldo's, good food & live music when we were there Sunday afternoon, definitely the right choice. Mixed reviews on here, my advice for all USA hotels look at your room & view before you commit, loved it here

Room Tip: Check room out before you commit
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was historic. I have stayed in many historic hotels because I love the older construction, furnishings, and quaint atmosphere.
I got an ocean front room-which was a blessing. Because my mother and I were able to enjoy watching the ocean from our rocking chairs on the porch, I am giving the inn 2 stars. The accommodations, however, we're appalling. The room smelled musty and mildewy. The foldout bed was so rusty, there was rust on the back of the mattress pad and the bed wouldn't fold out! I had to sleep on the floor.
I love the charm of historic hotels-this hotel, sadly seemed neglected and uncared-for. I hope the owners invest in refurbishing the rooms soon. The Driftwood Inn has potential--if the owners choose to take the responsibility to take care of it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SASmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Very sorry you had a bad experience with the sofa bed in your room. Those beds are only 3 years old. We would have been happy to have someone come to the room to open the bed if we had been made aware you were having difficulty opening the bed. We have 11 buildings on the property of varying ages. We will be renovating 3 of those buildings in 2014, with more to come in the future. Thank you for reporting the problem at check out so we were able to correct before the next guest arrived but we wish you had let us know you were having a problem when you first discovered it so your stay would have been more comfortable. Jeanne L. Radlet, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

First time we have stayed at the Driftwood and picked it out from the the reviews on tripadvisor . The hotel is dated from the 1930's and has a charm of its own , we stayed here for 4 nights in November the room we had was an efficiency and was clean and well equipped and located near the restaurant , bar and pool . The restaurant was always busy at dinner time not only by hotel guests but with locals having a meal which tells you how good the restaurant is . We could not fault the hotel it was reasonably priced and the location was right on the beach and close to a few other restaurants and bars if you are looking for a good place to stay in Vero you can't go wrong in staying here . thanks to everyone at the Driftwood for making our stay a most enjoyable and relaxing one .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNNY1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

There are good things about this resort but also some bad things.
First, the good. Vero Beach is a pleasant area with many attractions within an easy drive (eg the Kennedy Space Center is only about 90 miles away). Also the location of the Driftwood Resort is excellent, being right by the beach with wonderful ocean views. The staff are friendly and helpful and the background to the resort is quirky and interesting (it dates from 1937).
We stayed on a timeshare exchange in one of the "cottages" in the older part of the resort. The cottages are not large but they are quite attractive and comfortable inside, although somewhat dated.
Unfortunately the cottages are located around the edge of a small and narrow U-shaped car park, at the head of which is "Waldo's" restaurant. This is very popular with locals as it has lively music. Sadly, the result is that for visitors staying in the part of Driftwood near Waldo’s it is absolutely impossible to have a relaxing, quiet break. Being in one of the cottages is a bit like living in the car park of a small industrial estate. The restaurant is busy most lunchtimes and evenings and because there is no allocated car parking for the cottages there is a constant movement of cars (and their noisy occupants) in and out of available spaces.
Naturally, truck deliveries of food and drink to Waldo's take place throughout the day. For us the worst of these was when a particularly large truck made a delivery at 6.30 in the morning and parked right outside our bedroom window. That might have been necessary but a more thoughtful and considerate driver would surely have turned his radio and engine off for the 20 minutes it took him to unload his boxes. That was an exceptionally early delivery of food and drink but every morning there is a garbage collection at 5.30am at the property directly behind the cottages. At least you don't need an alarm clock!!
On another morning a large truck pulled up and the driver put up a work bench in the car park and started doing some metal work for Waldo's (it sounded like welding). That was at 7.15am.
So, if you like noisy music, random parking, loud customers entering and leaving a restaurant at all times of day, and regular disruptions by heavy vehicles, you will enjoy the Driftwood Resort. But if you want a quiet break away from bustle and intrusive noise this really is not for you.
Because of the problems we experienced we cut our stay short to find somewhere more relaxing. We were sorry to leave Driftwood Resort itself but we couldn’t take living in Waldo’s car park any longer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from Waldo's restaurant as possible.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HertfordshirePandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews