We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tons of character in a fabulous location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Driftwood Resort
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tons of character in a fabulous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is a Vero Beach classic and is a little older, but hasn't raised its prices to unrealistic levels. We stayed in the older section where our room had charming decor and a tiny but functional kitchen. The bed was my only complaint - we had to split up and use the sofabed. The beach is fabulous and the town is quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sh0rebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    88
    26
    19
    13
See reviews for
86
102
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you want to experience some old florida lifestyle, this place is perfect with lots of character and interesting history.
Great experience with every every member of the staff. The second floor room, overlooking the ocean was very accommodating and clean.
My wife and I will return for another stay as soon as time allows.
Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandro54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our room was 210 and it was not one of the nicer rooms at the resort. However, we had none of the problems expressed in some of the previous reviews. No smell, no bugs--just a clean, but compact unit. Since there 2 of us, the srudio unit was fine. An earlier reviewer said RCI owners should request a higher unit. I did not know why but the rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors of teh A building could see the ocean from their porches. The B building is closer to the pool and the ocean and the views from those porches are better.The restaurant was a casual seafood place with fried foods and drinks. The hamburgers looked huge--too much for me but they looked good! There are better (depending on what you like) restaurants in walking distance. The staff was excellent. I told them our bed was too hard and they immediately brought up a foam egg crate which fixed that. We had a minor plumbing problem and that was fixed immediately. i would efinitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Had room 104, same as a previous review. So much of the same to say as he wrote. Dark room, small kitchen. The carpets and furniture were dingy, and the room smelled, so i had to buy a air-freshener to be able to stay in room. Noisy airconditioner. Approx 19 inch nonflatscreen TV.Some ants in bathroom - no problem. Filthy water / mud came up in the tub (on 31th. dec) from the the neighbors I believe. And then to the good parts.The bed had the right firmness for me.Icemachine just outside the room.The hotel is right at the beach, but try to get rooms with seaview.2 smaller swimmingpools.A good restaurant on property. A couple other restaurant in walk distance from hotel. Try Nino's at Humiston Park. The Sea can get a little rough, but there are lifeguards on duty at Humiston Park, just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We came upon this great find when we meet a couple of bikers in a park. They suggested this place to us which was right up our alley. It is a time share also so wasn't expecting a one night stay. Too our surprise we got an ocean front suite. These rooms take you back in time, but had everything we needed. Then main building is all old driftwood which gives the place such character. So many cool novelties for decorations around the grounds. Nice beach side/ pool side restaurant. Driftwood gave us a relaxing feeling, especially with rockers outside our room to watch the ocean.
This is a place I would consider coming back for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: 205 was our oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mammacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Driftwood in Vero Beach (our favorite Florida town) many times - so it was time for a review. The Driftwood has a wide variety of accommodations to meet various tastes and the prices are very good for what you get. We particularly like the rooms with balconies overlooking the adjacent park. We brought our kids to the park when they were young and, more recently, our first grandchild. Our favorite room (#3022) is spacious and quiet. The Driftwood is located very close to everything - you can walk to great restaurants, parks or shopping. It has two pools (we like the smaller, quiet one) and is on the beach. We keep going back - what more can you say?

Room Tip: There are a lot to choose from - check them out on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort pierce
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently booked a room for New Year,s eve and was told my confirmation # was Mike, and the cancellation policy for the holiday was 48 hours notice. We were unable to keep our plans so I called the hotel 48 hours before our arrival and cancelled. The woman on the phone said no problem the room was cancelled and there would be no charges to my card.( I did not get her name). Yesterday I received my credit card statement with the room charge on it and it was charged on 1/2/2013. I called the hotel and they said since they do not have a computer they would have to find the paper work!!!!!!. Later I was told the manager said they had no proof I called and the charge stands. I have filed a dispute with my credit card company.PLEASE BEWARE

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pamela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne M, Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Sorry you had this experience but we show no record of having recieved a cancellation call from you. When you spoke with the assistant manager she states you could not identify what time of day you called or who you spoke with about the cancellation. We do have a cancellation policy as do all hotels. We were completely full New Year's Eve and held your room all night long. I'm sorry you felt you were unjustly charged for the no show.

Jeanne Radlet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach - Ocean Front
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#9 of 26 in Vero Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Property: Driftwood Resort
Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963-1954
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing