We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genteel shabiness”
Review of Driftwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Driftwood Resort
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just completed a week long stay. This was our second visit. If you are expecting first class accommodations this is not the place to stay. It is Old Florida and one of the most relaxing sites in Florida. Being right on the beach means the views are wonderful and it's easy to walk over and find a good spot for sunning, swimming, or snoozing under an umbrella. The units are a little old and a little worn, but are comfortable and clean. There's a bar with live music and the restaurant has a nice menu with great burgers literally steps from the beach. The only drawback is insufficient parking because spaces are not assigned and those who are not guests come for the bar and restaurant use the same parking lot.

If you're looking for a low keyed vacation where you can just kick back and relax on the beach this is the place. We're planning on returning again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Driftwood Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 289 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We met some friends here yesterday for a drink after work.
The GOOD: The food was great, the portions were large, and the bill for 4 of us [6 or 7 entrees were ordered] came to $66! that's a huge bargain in Vero Beach. The waitress was very nice

The BAD: limited on-site parking, my beer was warm [that may have been due to the large crowd they had there].

The IN-BETWEEN: Kitchen closed down @ 5pm, and bar was to be emptied by 630/700. Not sure if that's the norm or just for yesterday.

Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. Will go back again, and hopefully it will be quieter

Room Tip: We did not seek lodging at the resort, as this visit was just for dining.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Some of the rooms are in newer buildings and their views are somewhat restricted as you are at 90 degrees to the beach. The restaurant is reasonably priced and food is good. The old artifacts sprinkled throughout the resort (and in your room) are very interesting. Waldo Sexton who built the original buildings must have been a real character! I have stayed here twice and would come back again. It is remarkable and one of a kind!

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms in the old "Breezeway" building built by Waldo Sexton. Very rustic b...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denny69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We used our RCI time and got a fourth floor unit in their "vacation villas" building. It may not have the charm of the main building or the breezeway building, but we were one door down from the oceanfront unit. We had a beautiful view from the rocking chairs outside our room. The room was clean and basic, with a kitchenette, full refrigerator. The central air had stopped working and been replaced with window-units that were a little noisy but efficient. The grounds were very well kept, staff very nice. You could pay a big buck for the Gloria Estefan-owned hotel next door and not get a better view!

Room Tip: If you're an RCI, ask for 3rd or 4th floors
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraholy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Although it was some years ago I stayed here I cant imagine the Hotel has changed too much but the Apartment we stayed in was E11 and boy what a view of the Ocean.. a very memorable experience and almost right on the Beach.. I didnt want to leave this place it was amazing waking up to hear the ocean every Morning! Special Place..

Room Tip: A stunning Location..
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBBuffSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Checked in and the room smelled like fish. The staff is rude they don't care if you have a good clean vacation. The staff can't help you at might. The room should accommodate four people. But the kitchen was small. The sink was so small a small skillet wouldn't fit. The dishwasher was a waste of time. The carpet needs replaced. They only supplied us with 2 wash cloths and 3 towels for 4 people. Linen exchange was only one time during a 7 day stay. We ended up buying our own towels. Stay away from this place. Worst vacation resort ever been in. Will never come here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank divecrazy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here. You should have had six sets of towels in your room when you checked in. They are usually kept in the vanity or another cupboard in the bathroom, was that checked, we only display 2 towels in the bath/shower itself. As far as the dishwasher is concerned, they are apartment sized, very sorry if this was insufficient for your use. We do supply a linen exchange once a week free of charge if you are staying as an exchange guest, but if you are renting as in any hotel we clean the room and give fresh linens every day. There certainly was no need to buy towels, especially since we have a free exchange of large beach towels at the front desk anytime you want them. Again I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. Jeanne L. Radlet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is one of those places that seem to demand a decision; you either love it or hate it. The term eclectic has been overused but until you see this place you really can’t understand how apropos the description is. Our unit is right across from Waldo’s and backs up to the stage. Five of the seven days, there was live music. The whitest reggae band I have ever seen played and except for not being able to get “Red, Red Wine” out of my head for the rest of the week they were great. A men’s acapella choir from Duke University serenaded us on Sunday night and there was Country, Rock and Roll etc. for the rest of the week. If you are looking for glass, steel and concrete with a concierge on staff this is probably not the place for you but if you seek funky next to the ocean you are spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterswc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay, we try to retain as much of the "Old Florida" feel as we can. Waldo's Restaurant and Lounge truly is the "Last Great American Hangout!!"
Jeanne L. Radlet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#8 of 27 in Vero Beach
230 reviews
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Vero Beach
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963-1954
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range: $147 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing