We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and mediocre food”

The Wave Kitchen and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wave Kitchen and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 325 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bouganvillia Lane
Description: ~Simple, Savory, Seaside~ The Wave Kitchen & Bar, offers an ocean-front dining space with amazing views of the Atlantic. The restaurant offers a menu directly sourced from local farmers, fishermen and artisanal purveyors. The Wave concept was designed to offer a dining experience similar to what one would encounter at a hospitable and cozy dinner party at a friend’s home with generous attention to detail. The open kitchen and customizable selections aim to engage guests.The Wave will also feature select Cuban specialties developed by Costa’s owners,Emilio and Gloria Estefan,form their Estefan Kitchen cookbook.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service and mediocre food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had high hopes as pretty restaurant. The salad was good so we were optimistic. But then we were waiting and waiting for dinner. Over 30 minutes and finally asked the waiter what the situation was. We asked someone else if we could get complimentary glass of wine and they agreed. The meal was very average and pricey. But the worst thing was our waiter. Very phony. Kept thanking us when we would order and then he made a speech at the end on how pleased he would be to serve us again. Please!!!! It was over the top.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nedra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    99
    53
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne FL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“one of many Gems at Costa D-Este”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner you will be pleased. I am a scrambled egg fanatic and here i found the tastiest scrambled eggs i have ever had!! How about a Salmon BLT for lunch and any number of delights for dinner. We recommend you start off with the Paella. if you are very hunger get the order for two but next time we will get an order for one and split it so we can order two or three other items too!! Go!! the Wave is worth driving an hour from my home just for dinner!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Echo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Have eaten there several times”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Latin American dishes are fantastic. So it the steak. Good ceviche. Overall the food is terrific, nice looking dining room overlooking the pool area and the ocean beyond it. Had a mahi mahi dish that was average at best. But like any other restaurant, not everything is going to be over the top. Still one of my favorites eats.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful flavors, great attention to detail.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Although there are items to suit the surf-and-turf crowd, make sure to try the Cuban specialties and seafood.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank outdoorsisbest_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a top ten Restaurant”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I decided to go out for dinner on Christmas and since many restaurants were closed for the Holiday we decided to try one of the higher rated and more exspensive dining options in Vero Beach.The reviews posted would lead one to believe this restaurant was superior across the board.unfortunately that was not our experience. My wife sat down and her chair had spilled sauce on one side which she sat on.We ordered Calamari for an app. and I really enjoyed it my wife thought it needed a spicy sauce to dip with.Their sauce selection was mild with very little flavor.I ordered Paella for one,I enjoyed it,very tasty,I would have preferred the sausage in lg.pieces rather in small cubes,and the chicken in pieces as well,rather than the Chinese style chicken bites served. My wife ordered Ropa Vieja very salty,and not up to par with the same dish served in many other Vero Beach restaurants for half the price.I had fresh fruit for dessert,my wife had flourless Choc.cake,which my wife ordered based on previous reviews.She did not think it was an extraodinary or favorful choice.For a dinner check with a glass of wine and a Scotch / water we spent before tax $ 99.00 Our service was ok,Blake was a good waiter,Our feeling is this restaurant does not deserved to be in the top ten of Vero Beach,we have dined in many of the top twenty in this area and most ot them are way above this location in Food quality, Food preperation,and presentation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkwburnett2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wave Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Wave Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing