We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Terriffic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wave Kitchen and Bar

The Wave Kitchen and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wave Kitchen and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 313 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bouganvillia Lane
Description: ~Simple, Savory, Seaside~ The Wave Kitchen & Bar, offers an ocean-front dining space with amazing views of the Atlantic. The restaurant offers a menu directly sourced from local farmers, fishermen and artisanal purveyors. The Wave concept was designed to offer a dining experience similar to what one would encounter at a hospitable and cozy dinner party at a friend’s home with generous attention to detail. The open kitchen and customizable selections aim to engage guests.The Wave will also feature select Cuban specialties developed by Costa’s owners,Emilio and Gloria Estefan,form their Estefan Kitchen cookbook.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terriffic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were in town for the Piper 75th Birthday party and stumbled accross this hotel restaurant. From the moment we entered, we were treated like royalty with the service. Thank you Bernardo (Bernie). Food was excellent and unique. A truly great place and one not to be missed in Vero

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    90
    45
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great service, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our waiter was one of the best waiters we've ever had anywhere (don't remember his name, but he had a shaved head). The atmosphere was very modern and nice. The food was not amazing, but was good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank zracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for late night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We went there for a drink after a night at the theater. Bad idea. Bar is very uncomfortable for conversation. Service is so do. Being a Cuban restaurant we wrongly expected a late (10pm) night bar menu. To say something nice.......the valet service was a nice touch.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimpamjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eat outside on the patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Enjoyed the South Beach ambience here in Vero Beach. On a beautiful sunny day, get a table around the pool. Food was good and loved their virgin mojito!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RomaReturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake mary, fl
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food in Vero Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We dined the first night in the restaurant at the hotel "The Wave." We should have dined there both nights. The food and service were wonderful. The menu was quite varied and enticing. We ordered the trio of ceviche with a tuna, a lobster, and a calamari ceviche. They were all amazingly fresh and had their own unique flavor. These were so good we ordered them again the next day at the pool. The portions are really great and they are served with their own plantain sticks (like long plantain chips). Perfect for this appetizer. For dinner my husband ordered the whole cooked fish. The presentation was really something with the entire fish poised on the plate. He loved it, said it was cooked very well and had a good structure so you did not run in to any stray bones. I ordered the Shrimp Cuban Scampi with pasta; the chorizo was overflowing, the shrimp were cooked beautifully, and the wide Pappardelle pasta and lite sauce were a perfect compliment. For dessert we had the Bómbon Cubano; a flourless chocolate cake, with a liquid ganache center with tres leches ice cream. Yum! Our dinner there was topped off with fantastic latin music played by a guitarist and one other accompaniment. There music was spectacular, his voice was tremendous, and it made the entire evening even more romantic.
We also had breakfast at the hotel Sunday morning; again, amazing value and wonderful food. I had the Wave Omelet; it was delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mainlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wave Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Wave Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing