We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great older, smaller Florida motel one block off a wonderful beach”
Review of Sea Spray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Spray Inn
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks traveling around Florida and my plan was to stay in older, traditional Florida motels that were not chains and ideally owned and operated by resident owners. We stayed in several different small motels and this one was closest to what we were looking for.

The property is older and does show it in certain areas (for example, the doors have been painted with enough layers of paint where they can be sometimes difficult to close), but it is kept very neat and clean. There is a pleasant pool area which all of the rooms open onto. There are rooms on both the first and second floor, no elevator, so best to request a room on the first floor.

They provide free use of beach chairs and umbrellas to visit the beach, which is just over a block away. The staff is very helpful with directions as well as recommendations for restaurants, etc.

Free wifi, works well without a hitch. They give you the password when you check in.

Our room was quite large with a small stove and decent sized fridge, plus coffee maker (and enough coffee to make a whole pot, not just a couple of cups) and microwave, plus plenty of glasses, plates, flatware, etc. The bathroom is pretty small, although common for this type of motel. The one oddity is that there were two full-sized beds in the room. Not quite big enough for two people who are used to having a queen bed (like myself and my wife), so we ended up sleeping in separate beds during our stay. TV is small and older style, but we didn't use it while we were here, so not a big deal to us. There is a pleasant area for having morning coffee just outside the door. And a coin-operated washer and dryer onsite (they provide detergent for free, just ask at the front desk).

We would definitely stay here again. We liked Vero Beach and we loved our stay at Sea Spray.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 203 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Very quick check in, Nicole was a pleasure! They were able to accommodate our F350 and utility trailer as well. We arrived to a very clean, refreshed room on the 1st floor, exterior door with screen door too! Room was good size with fully equipped kitchen, table and chairs, sitting chair and queen bed. Also a tv. Bathroom was sufficient, lil smaller than I like, but it was great! All linens were a bright white. This lil place has a lot of charm and very sweet. Great neighborhood and steps away from beach. I would recommend anyone to stay here, we enjoyed our one night, wish we could have stayed longer! Hope to be back in this area again! Thank you for the down home, wonderful accomadations!! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I usually stay at the higher end resorts. We decided to go back in time a little and we were glad that we did. They did a great job on refurbishing this place. It was very clean, comfortable, lots of room and had all the amenities needed. Leslie and her staff were very nice and helpful in explaining where to dine. This place brought back memories for both of us. We enjoyed our stay and recommend the Sea Spray Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My family and I have been coming to the Sea Spray Inn for many years. We actually lived in Vero for awhile, we currently llive in Virginia. We spent our 25th wedding anniversary in Vero and stayed at the Sea Spray.
The updates were amazing, Clean comfortable room, wi-fi, cute little kitchen. If you want to stay in a place that is a great price, comfortable, and close to the beach and shopping, this is the place for you. The owners are friendly, attentive and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. I'm sure that they will treat you the same way they treated me, I have a history with this place. If it's your first visit, they will treat you like they treated me, like an old friend coming for a visit. If you stay here, you will enjoy it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smnsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We come to Vero every year at least once. We had checked into another hotel and stayed for about 20 minutes before we decided we needed to leave. We found the Sea spray Inn in a local advertising booket and decided to call for an open room. They had something available so we checked in and were pleasantly suprised with the room. It was a good size room with a full kitchen. The room was clean and well maintained. The Inn was only a block from the beach which was nice. The owners were friendly and accommodating. We used the pool most days.
The room we were in had two Queen sized beds and the only fault I could find was the mattresses were too soft and well broken in, they need to be replaced. They showed us another room they had for consideration on our next trip to Vero and it had a seperate bedroom with a Queen bed and two twin beds in the main area which was nice for a small family. We enjoyed our stay and will come back.

Room Tip: They have several configurations of rooms so ask what they have available to get one that suits you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdyak49157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

They had a great rate and are not on the beach so we had low expectations. However, it turned out to be a excellent mom & pop kind of small beach-style hotel just off the beach and a very short walk from the beach. Our room was clean, large and comfortable with plenty of room for me to do some work on my computer. The owners (they seemed to be the owners) could not have been nicer. They are pet friendly, yeah, Kirby James got to come.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room. You wont hear people walking around as you could on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

For the second time in two years, we've just thoroughly enjoyed our second 10-day stay at Sea Spray Inn, having first found this gem last summer, thanks to the owners' excellent website.

As usual, the owners were very friendly and always helpful and accomodating. They really strive to make one's stay as enjoyable as possible, whether it means pointing a guest toward the many interesting local attractions and activities or just ensuring a serene atmosphere for peace and quiet.

Some of our favorite things about Sea Spray Inn:

1. Our room had a simple and attractive elegance, plenty of space and a very convenient kitchenette. Like many of the rooms, it has a large window overlooking the luxurious landscaping of the intimate and quiet courtyard. The room was serviced well by the housekeeping ladies who were always friendly and helpful.

2. Sitting at one of the umbrella-shaded tables in the tree-shaded courtyard eating a scrumptious take-out meal from the nearby South Beach Pizzeria (5 times this trip!). Some of the best Italian food I've ever had! They're located just a quarter-mile away.

3. In the evening, spending an hour or two in a lounge chair on the roof-top deck while the constant sea breeze would blow softly through the palm trees

4. Taking a long walk each morning through the interesting side streets and admiring the beautiful homes and gorgeous live oaks and other vegetation. It was so nice to come back and take a dip in the crystal clear pool that always seemed to be the perfect temperature.

5. As an alternative to the pool, we would sometimes opt for a dip in the similarly comfortable ocean water at South Beach Park beach, a mere 2-minute walk from the Inn. We watched as fishermen regularly caught pompano and other species from the beach.

6. Using a couple of the Inn's bikes, we rode a couple of miles into the heart of the island's main street and stopping at an excellent bakery for some pastry which we ate at their sidewalk tables

7. Also on the island, the Boardwalk Ice Cream shop is about 3 miles from the Inn and one can sit and watch the ocean while enjoying the best ice cream in the area. That's just my opinion, but I've tried many of them....

8. The Inn's location is convenient to the bridge, so trips onto the mainland of Vero Beach for shopping or dining are very easy

There's much to love about Sea Spray Inn and the nice memories will keep us going while we look forward to returning there. Kudos to the owners for a creating a great experience!

Room Tip: Check the website for images of the rooms and let the owners know what you might like. They'll a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davetheturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#10 of 26 in Vero Beach
249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
0.2 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#13 of 26 in Vero Beach
413 reviews
9.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#11 of 26 in Vero Beach
310 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Vero Beach
Hampton Inn Vero Beach
#7 of 26 in Vero Beach
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Inn

Address: 965 E Causeway Blvd, Vero Beach, FL 32963-2235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range: $121 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Spray Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our old Florida style inn promises to transfer you to thoughts of a simpler time amidst cool ocean breezes and a tropical setting. We offer an unmatched variety of accommodations providing beach side comfort at affordable rates, giving you the most enjoyable vacation experience. All of our 17 unique, studio and one bedroom suites have a fully equipped kitchen. Relax and enjoy our large roof deck overlooking our tropical courtyard and heated pool. The unique charm of our tropical retreat with hometown hospitality is what keeps our guests coming back again and again! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Spray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Vero Beach
Sea Spray Gardens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing