We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Osceola Bistro

Osceola Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Osceola Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 321 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is beautifully done inside, very nice atmosphere, good quiet music, and can be very romantic. I had the calamari with their own homemade spinach linguine in a sauce that was really extraordinary. Three of us had dinner, and we all argued over whose was the best. A must for anyone who loves well prepared food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ycarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    65
    35
    25
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vero beach
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Menu does not change”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Menu items are always the same so there is little reason to keep returning here. Nothing on the menu is worth special note. Last time we went with a large group and made reservations well ahead. The staff was unable to keep up and the food/service were well below par. Dogs and cats are welcome here if that does anything for you.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VBReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
600 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Ambiance is not a replacement for food & service!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Large group lunch fell short. Menu selection limited. Food prices slightly high for value. Waitstaff needs training and very slow service. This restaurant in its present incarnation is not long for this world unless it improves fast and substantially. Recent similar reviews appear to the be rule rather than the exception! Too bad...the ambiance and outdoor dining area are very good!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below Sub Par”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had a reservation for 7:30. In the party was a very eldery gentlemen and a child. The first problem was in the drinks. A margarita that is advertised with a Gran Marnier floater did not have it and was apparant to me from looking at it. Upon mentioning this to the waiter he brings what was supposed to be a shot and pours it into the drink. The only problem is apparantly the waiter must feel that we are complete idiots because the liquid was clear. Gran Marnier is not clear. We use Gran Marnier in the household a minimum of twice a week and furthermore 2 members the party owned a bar and restaurant. The person who had this drink never did finish the drink because of the taste and the waiter never realized or commented or offered a replacement or alternative.
So it continued to go downhill from there. No appetizer was ordered and when we came into the restaurant the inside was about 50% filled when we arrived. So it is not like they were overcrowed with tables ahead of ours.
It is now around 8:40 and I iam looking around for our food. A manager comes to our table and see the time on our ticket and proceeds to apologize for the over hour wait on no food and discounts the meal before it hits the table.
My meal was the tuna which was seared. The marinate had literally no flavor and the rice was stone cold which I sent to be heated after now waiting almost 1 1/2 hours. When it came back the rice was so stuck together it was unateable. They wound up removing that from the check. The crab cake was a complete joke a 12.00 appetizer that was at most 1 inch in diameter 2 of them. The chicken and dumpling the small adult portion a child was still hungry. The 39.99 9 oz steak was competely not worth the price and the potatoes were left untouched more than likely cold. The shrimp pasta dish did have good flavor but was also mildly warm at best.
Sadly I had been to this establishment once before and really satisfied. It was so bad that I was calling Fresh Market to see if they were still open to go buy and purchase something from the bakery for dessert. We wound up running to PUBLIX for ice cream for dessert since it was so late that was about the only option and we were really happy with that. Can you imagine going out to a nice restaurant and bolting to the grocery store for dessert.
Since this restaurant had white paper over the white table clothes we left a note to the management which clearly saw the note being written and our extreme displeasure and even left a phone number for them to call. I am not one to create a scene in public to I paid the bill and left.
They are so concerned they have never bothered to call so that give you an idea of how much they were interested in fixing a very bad expereience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Party - Big Dissappointment”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

After dinner tonight, came home for a sandwich! Small portions, too small for the price.
Evening special, duck breast was'nt even warm when served.
The fish portion was 1/2 or less than expected in size, about 2 inches in width.
Appetizers small - crabcakes (2) were just 1 inch in diameter.
8 ounce steak, $39.00???
Dessert, teramasu ws not traditional - the sticks were dry, not soaked.

It's an overpriced - over hyped - dinner in an alley in Vero Beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osceola Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Osceola Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing