We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like this place!”
Review of Sumo House

Sumo House
Ranked #93 of 321 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai
Restaurant details
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We like this place!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is our go-to asian eating spot in Vero Beach. Food & service are good & consistent. Short wait time for food makes it a great spur-of-the-moment spot. I have had many different things here & they are all good. Steamed fish, sushi & sashimi, miso soup, wahoo salad, lobster pad thai, lobster roll......all excellent. Clean place too. The staff is always warm, friendly & grateful.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flgirl34709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thai and Japanese heaven”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Some of the best Thai and Japanese food in the Vero Beach area. Love the Sumo Bento, presentation outstanding.

Only thing disliked is the atmosphere, too much like eating in a store front therefore do more take-out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank goodfood188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
762 reviews
515 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Went for Japanese, ate Thai, but pretty good.”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We wanted Japanese, but were not thrilled with the menu.....just sushi, tempura and teriyaki offered at lunch....no Udon, Donburi, grilled fish, etc. This lead us to the Thai menu. I had beef with cashew nuts, my wife had chicken with mushroom and vegetables. The lunch included miso soup, which was very good, but I would have preferred Thai soup with a Thai meal. Both of our entrees were very good......lots of vegetables, and the sauce was nice and light. Good rice. Felt like a healthy meal......

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Pierce
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“our favorite soup”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Love good Thai food. This place has it! Attentive, prompt service. Both had Tom Kai soup- as good as we've had anywhere, including Thailand. Wife had Chicken Cashew Nut - very good. I had Chicken Red Curry, seasoned just right - sauce was excellent.

Will be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardSFt_Pierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, good food.”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My favorite place in town for varied Oriental food. They serve you quickly with generous portions.

It is not cheap, but the food is very high quality. The California Rolls are the best I have eaten.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanonVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo House also viewed

 

Been to Sumo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing