We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“very good but slightly off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Ranked #1 of 313 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“very good but slightly off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was there a few months ago and had last been there a year ago with my parents.. The service was flawless.. my cosmo was a disappointment, I do a better one than they did.. My Dad and I had fish which was wonderful. However, my Mom was most interested in the special they had, a pork chop. She asked our server about it and was told it "was flavorful and very juicy and moist". Sadly, it was neither of those. It was dry and tasteless. My mother was really disappointed and is never one to send meals back (unlike her daughter!) For the price of her meal, it was enough to make me think twice about going back next time I visit my folks. A year ago it was much much better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catsandroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    89
    26
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Multiple Appetizers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My daugther and I arrived late without a reservation, around 8:30pm, and we were seated on the covered patio. It made for a relaxing and lengthy dining experience. The menu's first page had about a dozen appetizer selections and we couldn't make it past page one. So we ordered four appetizers to share and loved everyone of them. All seafood options, of course. We couldn't refuse the dessert tray, either, with the trio of creme brulee flavors. We were the last guests to leave the restaurant, but the servers did not seem to care as we waddled back to the hotel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keely M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Expected better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have been dining at The Tides restaurant for the past few years. Our server, Wendy, was phenomenal and very personable. She, along, with Kenny, are the best servers in the house. Now, on to the food...the salmon on the early bird was rather fishy-tasting. The side sauce was almost flavorless. My husband's chicken dinner was very good, but a bit on the salty side. The wedge was just so-so, not great. The Caesar's salad had a very light dressing which made for a good flavor. The drinks were excellent, they really do give you a great pour on the wine and liquor. We will try this place again; however, we will be ordering different entrees.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbeachcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
359 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Value is very good - if you are seated by 5:30 PM during the week.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The Tides offers early bird specials including salads. Two of us ordered Scottish salmon - excellent. But not a thing on the plate except for the salmon. The men ordered the pork loin which came with veggies and a scoop of mashed potatoes. They were all the same price. I found that curious. Fortunately there was plenty of bread & butter on the table. Service was excellent. The dinners were $15 - order before 5:30 though!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trawlerdoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My girl friend and I had a really great meal at Tides. The food was spectacular and the service was top notch too.

We sat on the side in the open air. The night was cool and the stars were out. Just perfect.

The wait staff suggested a great wine. Not too pricey and very tasty. The appetizer, dinner was so good that for desert I got a special treat. My girl friend is now my fiancee!

Like I said .... a perfect night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidLoPresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing