We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite dinner of our trip”
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Ranked #1 of 322 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite dinner of our trip”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Tides was far and away was our favorite reastaurant on our recent visit to Vero Beach. The atmosphere is elegant and the service was superior. The meal was excellent. To top it off we walked to The Tides and when we were leaving it was raining. The owner graciously offered to give us a ride back to our hotel, service you don't find often. A must visit in Vero beach.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    99
    26
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great for a special event”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The various restaurant reviews generally rank "The Tides" as Vero Beach's best restaurant, and our group concurred. It is also one of the more expensive, but our visit was a special day and deserved spending a bit more.

The service was the best that we have experienced in years - really impressive.

The menu had a wide range of iinteresting choices and we all had first and second courses.

The mixed of cooked oysters were interesting as was the range of different salads for the first course. I was not impressed, however, with the Tuscan salad. It came with a great sales pitch but proved a disappointment. The first courses range from $8 for soup to $14.

The mains were also excellent and the wild salmon with the creamy polenta got full marks as did the filet with gorgonzola, and tuna. The mains run from $18.00 for pasta to $37 for the filet but most are priced at around $28 to 32.

The drinks were normal restaurant prices.

As we were a large table, a mandatory 20% service charge was applied to the bill. Fortunately, the service actually lived up to the cost.

It has since advertised in The local paper a special early dinner with much more limited menu but with a $15.00 price tag. You might phone them to see if any such specials are on offer around the time of your visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over-rated.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A friend recommended The Tides, so I decided to give it a try. We were disappointed that we couldn't eat on the patio, and instead we sat in a small room that seemed to magnify the sounds of people talking around us. I ordered one of the evening's specials, which was an onion-herb encrusted mahi mahi. I was very disappointed, as all I could taste was onion, and it reminded me of the dry onion soup mix, The mashed potatoes and green beans/carrots were excellent, as was the service. I would suggest making your reservation to sit on the patio if the weather is nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Solid restaurant”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Triple tail special and arugula salads were all tasty solid restaurant to which I would return but not 5star or. Even the best in vero

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rafael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to spend an evening”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We ate on the terrace. It was lit with wonderful white lights. The atmosphere was enchanting and the food was some of the best I've eaten.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolbob53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing