We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a special event” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Ranked #1 of 318 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great for a special event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The various restaurant reviews generally rank "The Tides" as Vero Beach's best restaurant, and our group concurred. It is also one of the more expensive, but our visit was a special day and deserved spending a bit more.

The service was the best that we have experienced in years - really impressive.

The menu had a wide range of iinteresting choices and we all had first and second courses.

The mixed of cooked oysters were interesting as was the range of different salads for the first course. I was not impressed, however, with the Tuscan salad. It came with a great sales pitch but proved a disappointment. The first courses range from $8 for soup to $14.

The mains were also excellent and the wild salmon with the creamy polenta got full marks as did the filet with gorgonzola, and tuna. The mains run from $18.00 for pasta to $37 for the filet but most are priced at around $28 to 32.

The drinks were normal restaurant prices.

As we were a large table, a mandatory 20% service charge was applied to the bill. Fortunately, the service actually lived up to the cost.

It has since advertised in The local paper a special early dinner with much more limited menu but with a $15.00 price tag. You might phone them to see if any such specials are on offer around the time of your visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    94
    26
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over-rated.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

A friend recommended The Tides, so I decided to give it a try. We were disappointed that we couldn't eat on the patio, and instead we sat in a small room that seemed to magnify the sounds of people talking around us. I ordered one of the evening's specials, which was an onion-herb encrusted mahi mahi. I was very disappointed, as all I could taste was onion, and it reminded me of the dry onion soup mix, The mashed potatoes and green beans/carrots were excellent, as was the service. I would suggest making your reservation to sit on the patio if the weather is nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Solid restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Triple tail special and arugula salads were all tasty solid restaurant to which I would return but not 5star or. Even the best in vero

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rafael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to spend an evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We ate on the terrace. It was lit with wonderful white lights. The atmosphere was enchanting and the food was some of the best I've eaten.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carolbob53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our family took us to the Tides for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. The food and service were above par. Everything was cooked perfectly and our server was very attentive. We enjoyed it so much, that we are planning to go back with friends in December.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing