We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE RUDE STAFF TOWS VEHICLES FOR NO REASON”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Reef Ocean Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This Business will tow your Vehicle.. Be Aware They are also in the same plaza as Bobbys Restruant which is amazing the staff and food is great at bobbys my family has been going to Bobbys for over 20 years. never had any problems untill earlier tonight when our car was towed by the Reef Ocean Resort, According to them we were not doing business in the plaza. (we were eating dinner at bobbys) and our car was towed. when we left bobbys and relized our car was towed the manager of Reef Ocean Resort had aleady gone home and he could not help us untill the morning and the tow yard was already closed. we were told we could not pick our car up untill the next morning.. The staff of Reef Ocean REsort were rude and did not care what we had to say or that we were at bobbys eating dinner when they towed our car. the tow yard says they do this to customers all the time and that the manager told us we would be towed if we did not move our vehicle which he did not.

Room Tip: Stay next door at Vero beach resort...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank srhcummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefocean, Manager at The Reef Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

We have a small parking lot for Reef and Bobbys customers when you park and do not go to Bobbys but walk next door as observed by Bobbys/Reef parking atttendant to the neighboring restaurant we are to tow your car. We do wait 15 mins or so before we call the tow company then usually another 15-20 for the tow truck to arrive. If after leaving the neighboring business you decide to eat at Bobbys we are sorry but we are unable to keep track of your evenings activities and know that you ended up at Bobbys. Once you go next door you are in parking violation as per our 4 parking signs posted at all entrance/exits. We are sorry for all those who eat, work or stay next door but we cannot accomadate there clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 110 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2010

We loved Vero Beach. Unlike most Florida beaches this one is not over commercialized and is not loaded with t-shirt stores, souveniers, bars and the other stuff you would find in many other Florida Beaches. There are some classy shops (mostly higher end items), but not too many.

Reef Ocean Resort is probably the smallest places we saw over here, but it is very nice. We had an ocean front, 1 bedroom, it was very clean and comfortable. It was on the second story and had an amazing view literally stops from the beach. We booked through the Armed Forces Vacation club, and didn't know what to expect, but were very surprised. The beach was great, the resort is also great with friendly people (mostly timeshare owners). Pool is lovely and it has a hot tub. The beach is amazing, not many people, lots of great walks and there is nothing better than listening to the surf as you sleep. It is connected to Bobby's restaurant, which is a pretty good place to eat and you wan walk to another half dozen restaurants within a few blocks. Overall, very pleased, especially happy that we were ocean front. My only negative comments were they need to add wireless (it is wired DSL, but they give you a very short 5 ft network cord, so you can't sit out on the balcony, by the pool, etc), not a big deal for me since I had a verizon air card. Also, the tv's are dated. 20" standard CRT in the living room and a 13" (maybe smaller) in the bedrooom - smallest TV I have seen in about 20 years. They are both old, need to get with the times and put in flat screens. Overall, I would highly recommend Reef Ocean Resort to anyone, it was a wonderful vacation on an incredibly beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We traded our two bed/two & half bath/ red time unit through RCI for a one bed/ one bath/ full kitchen unit which was all they had available. Up on our arrival, we found the unit was a second floor unit with very steep, narrow and flimsy stairs. My wife is disabled yet she can handle most single flight stairs with a landing. These stairs were very steep and only lit by a rope light tacked to the railing. When we opened the door, we were amazed at the lack of space. Two people might be able to stand together in what was called the kitchen/dining room/living room. The room was dark, minimal windows, and very unpleasant. After a very hazardous decent down the stairs, we asked to be shifted to a first floor room due to my wife's disability. We were told the only other unit was an efficiency unit, which was smaller than the front room of the other unit. We asked for another first floor unit which was ADA accessible. They said they had none and since they were a 'fixed" timeshare only the units made available to RCI guests are those which are provided by the owners. Of course if we wanted to rent a unit for the full weekly price they could do that! Needless to say, we left this place after about two hours of trying to deal with the people at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retirenow010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefocean, asst manager at The Reef Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

We have had the ADA come in the see if we had to remodel. The ADA laws reads " if feasible" but found that we cannot remodel it is not feasible due to fixed timeshare. Being a fixed timeshare we do not have the right to use an owners unit downstairs or up to accomodate a disapility even if that unit is unoccupied, not without that owners permission. We do have a high rating with RCI and II and owners of larger units 2/bed, 2/bath elsewhere are advised of the smaller units here at the Reef but most exchangers and renters do not mind the smaller room to be steps away from the ocean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

In 10 years of trading the timeshare week I own here, I'd never stayed till now. Check in was easy and the studio was immaculately clean but hot. You won't be in the room much since the beach is a stone's throw away (not in view), which is good because they've crammed a full kitchen (oven/range,fridge,microwave,sink, and cabinets/drawers), dinette, queen bed, queen sleeper sofa, and bathroom into about 400 square feet. Ikea fans will love it, but this Florida gal loved that they kept the kitschy Florida decor with mirrored walls to make it look bigger. We stayed a whole week and cooked 4/6 nights so far (still here) and made breakfasts and lunches in the room for a break from the sun. We rented a pack-n-play for our 17-month-old and set it up in front of the sleeper sofa, but didn't need the sleeper, luckily. The only problem is there's no wall between the kitchen/sleeper sofa and the bed/dinette set. There's absolutely no privacy if more than 2 people are staying in any of the 300 units (which are all above the office in hotel-type fashion). If you can, choose an efficiency or apartment, which are also only private for 2 people, but at least you have a wall (in apartment but not efficiency) separating the bedroom and a ocean view. These units are the 100s, 200s, 400s, 500s, and 600s and many are for sale through the Reef and through the individual owners.
The beach is quiet (absolutely no loud-crazies at night) and the streets literally close up at night in Vero Beach. There's middle-income neighborhoods in between the beach hotels/resorts/condos and A1A so it's a very safe, family friendly place to stay. I grew up with the crazy Clearwater beach MTV scene, to give you my 36 year old perspective. I highly recommend local coffee shops such as Cravings and Doughboys doughnuts for being open so early in the morning to catch coffee, pastries, and a sunrise with a early-rising toddler!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomadicnurse74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We booked here to visit a friend who was in town for a wedding. We were so pleasantly surprised by the awesome service and amenities. Our room had a fully equiped kitchen, huge plasma tv, dvd, sofabed, king bed, A gazzillion towels, laundry facilities,
2 balconies overlooking the ocean; just steps away, and overlooking the pool, with tables and chairs, BBQ facilities, hot tub, kids playground, restaurant, free parking, and the sweetest little ladies working at the front desk. The place was immaculate, and there were workers cleaning and organizing all day long. The pool area was neat and peaceful; and I just can't say enough about the location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Although the timeshare units are not big, there's plenty of room for two and a little bit inconveninet for additional 2 on the sleeper sofa but well worth it if you have small well behaved children...the timeshare is on the beach! And it is very update and clean. If you are looking for alot to do at the timeshare, this will not do probably as this is an extremely nice timeshare and offers a more peaceful side to a relaxing vacation. There are plenty of attractions within driving distance if you want more of the touristy things to do. This is a quaint small coastal town...just what my husband and I were looking for (late 50s yrs of age). He did a little surf rod fishing, we ate out, we cooked in, we enjoyed the view, the pool, the beach and Bobbys Restaurant on site. Also loved the restaurant at the main public access to beaches...can't recall the name of it..maybe Ocean Grille but the Steak Burgers there were fantastic! This is a Great Resort and would go there again!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katlyn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

we have been going to the reef for 9 years & own 6 units there it's peacefull quite & on the ocean.rooms & grounds are maintained.staff & people are so very nice.pool is great & waling on the beach. bobby's resturant has great good.go there you will love it!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dezi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
1.7 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#8 of 26 in Vero Beach
238 reviews
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#11 of 26 in Vero Beach
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Ocean Resort

Address: 3450 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963-1683
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vero Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range: $88 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Reef Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Ocean Hotel Vero Beach
Reef Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing