We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, nice rooms, & a pool!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vero Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Islander Inn
Save
You added The Islander Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, & a pool!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Islander is on A1A in Vero Beach right by a cute strip of shops, across from the Driftwood Resort, and right across from the beach. I stayed in an upstairs room with a king bed that comes complete with a big fridge and other kitchen amenities as well as a very large living space, closet, and bathroom. It had a high ceiling, nice peach/gray summer colors. The pool looked nice, but I went over to the beach. It was clean. The bed wasn't comfortable and the pillow linens were scratchy. I visited friends in a first floor room which didn't feel as nice- perhaps because it was 2 beds which ate up a lot of the space. Definitely recommend a 2nd floor room.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd floor room for higher ceilings and a more spacious feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyAlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
20
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shipman
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The location is WONDERFUL, the owners very nice. The room was just ok, small and front door would not close properly. Bath was very nice, had just been remodeled. Usually stay in nicer rooms, but would stay again, because of nice people and location. There was a park right across the street, which was fun for my small grandsons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimi0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windrmere fl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

for the price and closeness to the Atlantic,stay here!GET UP AND GO WATCH THE SUNRISE!
yes,sunsets on the west coast of Fl are great,but watch the sun come up and drive across the state and watch it go down in the same day!
great little hotel.close to good restaurants and for desert,a fabulous Kilwin's ice cream shop is next door!
life is good at Vero Beach!

Room Tip: get the second floor room facing south.from the balcony you can see the Atlantic to the left and wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

JUst stay there. Super nice people, great rooms. Across from the beach. Go there. The owners are awesome

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest, NJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I don't like you have an average then you go to very good. This place is good! Not very good but above average for sure. We visited in November 2010 for my nephew's wedding. We stayed 3 or 4 nights and it was clean, the owners were pleasant, the location was terrific right on ocean drive and across the street from the public beaches. Many eateries, shops, etc. I especially liked the ice cream place right across the street (Kill-something) and the NJ taylor ham and egg sandwiches at the little window walk-up in front of the hotel. Great place to grab coffee and breakfast. We loved Waldo's for happy hours and the Lemon Tree for a sit-down breakfast or lunch. The Islander rooms aren't fancy. The pool area is basic but everything was clean and pleasant. It was a good value and just plain good overall. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is only a limited number of rooms; setup motel/cottage style. Any room would be good. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Trails96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stumbled upon Vero beach, what a lovely place with some fantastic resturant and boutiques!
Originally tried getting a room at the Driftwood Inn but was fully booked as it was bank holiday weekend, busy!
Anyway we managed to get a room at the Islnder Inn, basic rooms but cheap rates so couldnt expect much more.
Rooms were country style decorated and you could tell there was a lot of personal thought in the little things like soaps, etc.
Maybe could do woth a bit better clean and modernising a few things!
The lady/owner seemed very nice at the beginning however very touchy and seemed that she didnt like to be bothered for anything.
Overall, i probably wouldnt stay here again but for just a one night budget stay its fine!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juicySugarplumfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Having spent two weeks on the road working in Florida, my husband and I were headed back north to go home and found ourselves in Vero Beach on Thanksgiving Day. We thought it would be nice to hole up there for a few days and rest before heading home. After being turned down at most places on the strip, we tried The Islander. Mary Jane, who with her husband are the resident managers, was super friendly and welcoming to us. She even offered to share their Thanksgiving meal with us! We were delighted with our old-timey room with king sized bed (one of the problems of searching for a room at the last minute is finding a king bed). The room had a coffee maker, a refrigerator, microwave, even a sink in the small "kitchen area" and a 2-burner hot plate as well. We stocked up on a few supplies at the store located right next door, and hit the beach just across the street. Mary Jane pointed us to Mulligan's, the only restaurant open on Thanksgiving Day, and we had a very good meal there.
We slept well that night but were awakened but some industrial sounding hum. Washing machine? Ice machine? We were in room 17, which apparently shares a wall with some utility room. Nevertheless, we had our coffee and eventually headed on out.
Mary Jane called us into the office.
She had mistakenly double-booked our room and we had to move into a different room. Room 16 has 2 beds rather than a king. No coffee maker. No little hot plate. The remote for the tv didn't work.
She thanked us for being flexible, although we were given the choice only to switch rooms or leave and get a refund for our second night (which we paid on arrival).
The blush was off the rose. The blankets are ripped (were ripped in both rooms) and the a/c is very very loud. I don't know what the humming was but it was annoying. Our second room, room 16, was on the other wall of the utility area.
But worst of all, after we kindly moved our things, Mary Jane suddenly wasn't at all friendly any more. She wouldn't even look at us. I thought she could have at least offered up a coffee maker, but she did not.
So while our visit started out to be wonderful, it ended on a bit of a sour note.
I would like to say The Islander Grill, a tiny restaurant attached to the hotel, had wonderful food and a very charming owner.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigwillie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
0.3 mi away
Vero Beach Hotel & Spa - A Kimpton Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach - Ocean Front
0.1 mi away
Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Driftwood Resort
Driftwood Resort
#12 of 26 in Vero Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Inn

Property: The Islander Inn
Address: 3101 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Vero Beach
Islander Hotel Vero Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing