We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Vero Beach”
Review of The Islander Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vero Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Islander Inn
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Reviewed January 1, 2008

I am from Vero Beach and we've known the owners of this hotel for years. They just remodeled all the rooms to keep it up to date with the Islandy feel. The rooms are very clean. The staff is very personable and willing to assist you. We recently booked 10 rooms for our wedding party and we even chose to stay here as well. There are tables and grills for outdoor BBQ's. And the pool is small and convenient with the warm Florida sun over head.
In response to a pervious person's post: this hotel as well as Vero Beach in general would be ruined if a larger chain bought it out. This motel lets visitors experience the true beauty and small town feel of Vero Beach. It is walking distance to privately owned touristy shops, galleries, and great eateries.
There is a great ocean-front park across the street with picnic tables and a playground for the kids.
This is a must stay if you are on vacation and want to get away from the hustle and bustle of an over populated city. Vero is the perfect getaway, beachfront town.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank elk1220ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 78 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2007

The location is simply ideal: steps from a nice, white sandy beach; near a line of rather swanky stores and an excellent little restaurant called "The Lemon Tree" which offers great breakfasts (also a nice little cafE whose name I can't remember). You're also near a couple of super-famous restaurants, like the Ocean Grill, a few blocks away. The Islander owners are friendly and helpful (drove me to my car rental place, a couple of miles away!) My room was spotless, with a renovated bathroom, decent TV, etc. Very quiet at night-- this is a quiet part of town and the rooms lie around a little courtyard, with banana trees, etc. Free coffee each morning. An altogether pleasantn experience, more enjoyable and memorable than the Holiday Inn and other chains. The price is reasonable, and they now have WEEKLY rates.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Rick070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

The Islander is a real find - a little old-fashioned, a bit worn in parts, but very good value, bright and cheerful rooms, ideally located for beach, shops and restaurants. It has real character, and we enjoyed our stay here more than in many better-appointed, more luxurious modern hotels. Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BIx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

The Islander Inn is a very Key West like motel. Rooms have been or are being refurbished, located right on the beach drive, can walk to many stores and restraunts and across the street a very nice public beach with all facilities , Picnic Huts, Restrooms, Kids Playground. Hotel swimming pool was clean and refreshing after a day on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dudeicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2006

Recently stayed at the Islander Inn on Ocean Drive in Vero Beach, it's a old run down hotel waiting to get bought out by a larger chain, in my opinion. Not very well maintained, airgaps around A/C, beds were ok, bathroom was bad, water in sink drained like molasses. door to bathroom was delaminating, coming apart. everthing looked like it was there since day 1. room smelled musty, air freshner was used in a attempt to cover it up. Friends had adjoining room that reeked of cholrine from a not so well kept pool.
For $125/nite ...not worth the price. would not recommend , except as a last resort, other than sleeping in a vehicle. Do not pull into the circular drive in front if you stay..owner parks his BMW there, you have to back out into heavy traffic if you pull in there !!!!Guess we know where the money's going !!! 2 thumbs down. Other friends stayed at Best Western on RTe. 60... said it was ok there.

8  Thank trvlr067891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2004

We have stayed at the Islander several times.It is an small and older facility, its not posh but has a lot of charm.The decorating is mostly with a tropical theme.Staff was friendly and accommodating.I believe that they may have changed owners,since our visit. Its right on Ocean Dr across from ocean+most lodging in this area is quite expensive.It was Islanders rates that caught my attention-very reasonable.Our room did not have a kitchen but they do have them in some rooms.The pool area is very attractive.If I had any complaint-it's that the pool isn't heated.I would certainly stay again.

20  Thank paba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lake Mills, WI
119
Reviewed June 28, 2003

My experience at the Islander Inn was awsome. The small-like atmosphere and "homey" feel made the my stay much better. It's within walking distance of the beach(like 200 pace), great shops, and restuarants. The rooms are brightly decorated and uplifting, happy, nad could make any old frump feel like smiling! The pool area is quant and neat too. If you're not interested in all the hustle and bustle that takes place at all the big name resorts, take a vacation to the Islander, and you will have a super stay guaranteed.

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#13 of 26 in Vero Beach
413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#11 of 26 in Vero Beach
249 reviews
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#10 of 26 in Vero Beach
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Inn

Address: 3101 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963-1955
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Vero Beach
Islander Hotel Vero Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing