We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for a beachside resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Vero Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent for a beachside resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This was a very nice place, though a bit below usual disney standards, which I suppose is to be expected for a more beachy, laid back resort. Upon arrival, we had some spa treatments set up, and the staff was very accommodating, ready to go the extra mile to help us, Rosanne especially. Our room was nice, though the bathroom was a bit questionably cleaned (bits of dirt or mold in the corner of a shower). The sheets also had a few little stains on one of them, but that was easily corrected. The food is decent, and the staff friendly. You do have to rent everything on the beach, and a lot of the food was a bit overpriced in true Disney fashion. For kids, there is plenty to do, from archery to basketball to pool activities. That said, there is plenty to do within 20 minutes of the resort. Overall, it's a decent place that could use a bit of a touch-up.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NLEME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    310
    121
    30
    24
See reviews for
684
219
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Scheduled as a last minute get away, the resort was easy to work with and securing a unit was painless. Late check-in was painless and quick, both security and front desk staff were professional, friendly and courteous. Our unit was a ground floor, 1 bedroom unit close enough to the beach to hear the waves on the other side of the dunes. For a 1 bedroom unit, the rooms were huge, well-appointed, clean and inviting. The open living room, dining, kitchen area were especially pleasant with a large flat screen TV mounted in the kitchen island. The unit was well stocked with dishes, linens, towels and incidentals. The king size bed was turned down with a welcome note and a folded towel animal placed on the bed. Parking was efficient and conveniently located underground underneath the unit out of the sun. The entire week was quiet, relaxing and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The pool is huge and heated. Beach access was a short walk from our unit. The poolside grill staff were particularly outstanding ensuring well-prepared orders and satisfaction. One complaint, and a slight one at that: extend 'Brunch' hours on the weekend especially, past 11:00AM. Other than that our entire stay was extremely peaceful, quiet, and relaxing. Wifi access was easy and painless. DirecTV was the same. DVD player worked great for our old movie DVD collection that accompanies us on vacation. Landscaping was definitely up to Disney standards ensuring privacy and beauty. The grill and campfire areas were a quick, slight walk around the corner from our unit and fantastic. Friends have been coming here for years for a quick get away from Central Florida, perfect for us Floridians getting away from the typical tourist beach and resort. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zen_journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Really ??? charging $.50 for sweet in your sweet tea - - heck the tea was already $4.00 - found out that if I add my own sugar I would have saved myself $$.

Need to resurrect your activities for the children - they are far less thanthe experience of the past -

1. campfire - only 1 song and move on to the roasting - before it was more interactive and fun - no effort anymore
2new schedule format is POOR - . list of activities - hard to get complete view - why not list all on the schedule - putting stuff that happens on Tues and Fri on the back of the schedule are very likely to be missed - or is that the purpose of leaving them off the schedule page?
3. airplanes in lobby, tie dye tshirts, basketball, gingerbreadhouses & tree decorating, etc - all missing ....
4. very few nature activities - need to publish the fact you have a great telescope for guests to enjoy - not just haphazardly stumble across it.
5. no xmas - pirate character meal/event ??? that is what we came back for - will it be next year?

many of the rooms need some TLC - TopLineCLEANING - tubs had scumm from previous guest - grout in bathroom was slimey and need of scraping...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rasta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Not sure how anyone can give this place an average review. It is absolutely gorgeous, feom the landscaping to the gorgeous ocean. We did not get bored, far from it. We took walks on the beach, played football, basketball, ping pong and mini golf. Relaxed, swam, went to the evening bonfire. Like any Disney resort, there was plenty to keep my son occupied, the un birthday party, archery, the beach and pool and activities galore. The food was so so. I could have skipped Sonyas, really good service but medicore food. Go down to the Ocean Grill for a yummy meal. The bucket of steamed shrimp at Shutters was quite good. We had a 2bedroom which was nice, probably could use a full remodel but it seems carpet and upholstry was replaced recently. If you are an active family and love nature and the outdoors, this is the place for you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank momopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Vero Beach Resort twice. The first time was just a few days added on at the end of a more traditional Orlando Disney vacation and the second time was for a relaxing week during a difficult year. For us, it's absolutely wonderful.

This is not a vacation for people who are trying to cram as much activity as they can into their vacation days, though; this is a place to sit, relax, and slow down. The staff has been uniformly excellent during our visits, the rooms clean and nice, and the property well-maintained. But any activity aside from enjoying the beach or the pool requires a bit of a drive and we found the on-site restaurants to be somewhat ordinary (and, in Disney tradition, on the expensive side for what you get).

But if you're willing to drive a bit, there are things to do. We would suggest that this is a vacation where you absolutely have to have a rental car and a willingness to put together your own schedule of events.

For us, Vero Beach Resort is a place to recharge from our stressful jobs and lives. We won't visit every year, but there are times when the quiet is exactly what we need.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
308 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the first week in December. We are members of the Hilton Grand Vacations Club and were looking for a property on the Gulf Coast of Florida, but since nothing was available Hilton passed us off to RCI and they found availability at this Disney Resort. We were booked for 7 nights but ended up only staying for four. The resort itself was nice, well maintained and the room was clean. The good thing about staying on an off-season week like this is that it’s quiet. We were lucky in that we got a third floor room so we had a bit of ocean view, but one thing to note is that only the cottages have direct ocean views; the one bedroom suites are in larger buildings that sit further back from the ocean. This was a major consideration for us, and if we had known that booking a one bedroom meant there wasn’t even a chance of a direct ocean view, I don’t think we’d have booked here. The other downside for us was lack of much to do in the area. If you don’t want to golf or swim there aren’t a lot of alternatives. It’s quite a drive to Orlando or Palm Beach. I admit we aren’t typical of the kind of people normally staying at a Disney resort, but given that this one is located on a relatively quiet part of the Florida Atlantic Coast, we ran out of entertainment in three days. We ate at the on-site Shutters Restaurant a couple of times (reviewed separately) but did not try the more upscale Sonya’s. If you just want to lie on the beach, this is a great December getaway.

Room Tip: Only the cottages with multiple bedrooms have direct ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsyuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

First I will mention we are DVD Members, and have enjoyed being such for almost 10 years. We have been to Vero Beach a few times with our son's family, and returned this year for our grandchildren's spring break. It is truly a beach resort with everything right there. Restaurants, boat rentals, and naturally, activities for the children. Also loved the large balcony on the two bedroom. Great Disney service!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
7.7 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
9.5 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#8 of 27 in Vero Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
11.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#12 of 27 in Vero Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Vero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Vero Beach Resort

Property: Disney's Vero Beach Resort
Address: 9250 Island Grove Terrace, Vero Beach, FL 32963
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Vero Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on warm sand and play in the sparkling blue waters of Disney's Vero Beach Resort. Just 2 hours southeast of Walt Disney World Resort, this elegant old-fashioned hideaway is located on Florida's scenic Atlantic Treasure Coast near the charming community of Vero Beach. Get away from it all in spacious lodgings that provide the comforts of home with an idyllic beach practically at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Vero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Resort Vero Beach
Disneys Vero Beach Resort
Disney Vero Beach Resort
Disneys Vero Beach Hotel
Disney Vero Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing