We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Change from Disney Park Areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Vero Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Took the family for spring break to stay at Vero Beach the last week of March. We are DVC members and wanted something different than doing the parks. We booked a Inn Ocean Front room and were very pleased with our view. For a standard style hotel room it was plenty spacious for the 4 of us (2 adults, 1 Teen, 1 Child). I was a bit surprised they had nobody to assist with luggage and had to take a cart to load myself and get it up to the room. We arrived around 1pm, and our room was not yet ready. We wanted to go off property for lunch while we waited and were given some recommendations. I gave my cell to receive a call when ready but was told once they know you are here, they bump up your priority so it shouldn't be long.

The resort is a bit out of the way from off property dining and shopping as you need to drive back 8 miles or so to civilization. We found a great place for lunch at Bobby's as we had to avoid many all seafood places since one child is allergic. We finished lunch and still had not received a call from the resort, so guess our room wasn't as much a priority. We walked around the little town area until the call came by 4:30pm then headed back to get settled in.

Since we also live in South Florida, we were a bit worried about the weather for this week as the forecast showed some cool temps for us during the week. Our best day was the one we arrived, Sun, but it was quite windy. We made sure to visit both the pool and beach before it got too late in the day. Monday was cooler, but not so bad we couldn't swim so we spent most of the day again at the pool and a little at the beach knowing the rest of the week we probably wouldn't.

The food at the outdoor pool area was as expected. The lines were a bit long, and the wait too, but the food was fine. The pool itself was great. Plenty large enough for the crowd we had even when they were using it for resort activities. I even used the outdoor sauna for a bit to help warm up after feeling cold getting out of the water. Swapping towels for fresh ones there is great, but since it shared lines with the counter doing other outdoor sign ups, you sometimes had to wait a while just for the towel exchange.

We did dine in their shutters restaurant one evening. Food was good, service was good, but it just had a bit boring feel to it. Since one night was a seafood buffet which we had to avoid, we also tried their appetizer bar The Green Cabin Room. They had a smaller menu of both appetizers and small meals/sandwiches in a cool setting. Unfortunately, it was very busy, and a cold evening so it was a rough nite. We had to wait for a seat, but its a first come situation and it felt like we were hovering. Then it took a while to get served and just got worse from there. Drinks were wrong, the specially allergy meal was messed up, and one meal was cold and hard. Then our server just left unexpectedly. We had a manager come up and he was very apologetic, and admitted their fault in the matter. He made sure we had food we like, and took many items off the bill. He did his best to make it right as much as possible and I appreciated that. I was also very surprised the hotel didn't have any room service available. Looks like they must have had cut backs because a cast member did say they used to have it, and its clear they had luggage service at one time too.

We really got lucky with the off property food choices we made. I'll consider separate reviews on a few of them but we ate at the following great places.. Bobby's, Vincent's, and Lemon Tree. The Lemon Tree in particular was our choice for our anniversary dinner, and it was fantastic! We also really enjoyed the small town atmosphere shopping areas. It was more pleasant than our trip to the Vero Outlet Mall, which was a bit disappointing!

This review falls short of an excellent rating for some of the negatives I mentioned, but there were plenty of positives too. It is a great location and you know what you will get with a Disney Hotel, and the activities for kids is great! But if they want to be a full resort, they need to realize that some of these missing items are expected.

We would still likely stay here again, but we now have a better idea of how to plan for this stay!

Room Tip: If you can get the beach cottage, do it. We didn't stay in one, but they look amazing! If not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Litty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent an extended girls weekend at the Vero Beach resort. Staff was excellent. Very friendly. Check-in was a breeze. We stayed in an Inn Room. Our first room smelled like mold/mildew and they quickly moved us to another room. Had a great time at the beach and pool. Plan to go back with the family next year.

The only negative point was the bar/restaurant. We ate there the first night and service was VERY slow. The other restaurants were great!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aiterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is another quality Disney resort. The architecture and grounds are beautiful. The pool area was lovely and had a lot of kid friendly activities both at the pool and Community Center. It is a public beach - not owned by Disney - but there is a vendor that rents chairs, umbrellas, and beach boards, etc. The service was Disney quality - i.e. friendly and eager to please. The only quibble is the food. The pool eatery was awful. We went to the Sunday brunch, and I wasn't impressed at all. This is a Disney timeshare - part of the Disney Vacation Club - and we had a villa with a full kitchen. We either cooked in our villa or went off-site to eat. By the way, our rooms were lovely and in very good condition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in a studio for 3 nights. Vero Beach area is very nice with a great homely feel.

The resort is quite tired and in need of a re-fit in some public and our studio room areas. For example, in our room the furniture is well marked, doors were dirty where people have touched them with hands over a long period of time and skirtings and bed heads were very dusty.

The rooms in my opinion are more like those in a Disney Value Resort such as All Star Movies in WDW.

The resort has a colonial look and the pool area is very nice. The beach and ocean looked great but we didn't use these as the weather wasn't warm enough. We were a little surprised that you had to pay to hire a bed and umbrella for the beach - we would have assumed these were complimentary.

We were also surprised that to use the PC and printer in reception it is $5 for 30 minutes. We have never had to pay in any other DVC property.

While (most) staff did seem very friendly on the first morning we were woken up by housekeeping and maintenance despite having the Do Not Disturb sign on our door.

On Sunday 7th April we ate brunch at Shutters restaurant. The food was amazing and plentiful but the service was abysmal. Our server Niel didn't smile, didn't greet us, didn't explain how the service worked and didn't really seem to want to be helpful. We had to ask for new cutlery, for our table to be cleared and for re filled beverages. At the end of the meal we couldn't locate him to sort out our check and eventually another server realised he'd gone on his break. Not good !!!

I personally wouldn't stay here again. I'd rather try Hilton Head resort or do a RCI swap to a high rated chain hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tickets-Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

100 percent occupancy and you would never know it. We stayed in the main building on second floor and the room was nearly soundproof. The property is well manicured. The tunnel under A1A is perfect so there is no worry of kids going to play on the fields or courts on the other side. The beds were a little stiff but not horrible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TORNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are actually still here. We arrived yesterday and had to wait an hour and a half because there was not a room available. The service at the restaurants on site is terrible! Have had to wait longer than 10 minutes each time to get acknowledged. Rude servers. Went down to the beach today and while beautiful they expect you to pay extra for chairs, cabanas, and umbrellas. Ridicilous. The pool is ok but filled with young screaming children...hardly relaxing and not big enough for the occupation of the resort. The TV is the size of a postage stamp. Also the room does not have enough outlets. In addition they charge 10.00 a day extra for wifi. We will definitely not be coming back bor would recommend staying here. The value is just not here for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Hopecharity12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fantastic Disney hospitality in an absolutely beautiful setting. The resort is perfectly located for a break from the Orlando theme parks. Gorgeous, small property. Great pool area, nice beach access, and incredible views. We stayed in a beach cottage and that was nothing short of incredible. Well appointed, great views, and immaculate. That being said, we were in love with the resort before we ever set foot in the cottage. The resort is beautiful and very clean. Very well themed, both Disney and turtles, to honor the huge turtle nesting area that is Vero. Every cast member was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildcatsfan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
7.7 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Vero Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Vero Beach
Hampton Inn Vero Beach
#9 of 26 in Vero Beach
57 reviews
10.9 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#13 of 26 in Vero Beach
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Vero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Vero Beach Resort

Address: 9250 Island Grove Ter, Vero Beach, FL 32963-4145
Location: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range: $198 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Vero Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on warm sand and play in the sparkling blue waters of Disney's Vero Beach Resort. Just 2 hours southeast of Walt Disney World Resort, this elegant old-fashioned hideaway is located on Florida's scenic Atlantic Treasure Coast near the charming community of Vero Beach. Get away from it all in spacious lodgings that provide the comforts of home with an idyllic beach practically at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Disney's Vero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Resort Vero Beach
Disneys Vero Beach Resort
Disney Vero Beach Resort
Disneys Vero Beach Hotel
Disney Vero Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing