We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great grouper sandwich” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Onion Eatery - CLOSED

The Red Onion Eatery
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: WE ARE OPEN FOR BREAKFAST, LUNCH AND DINNER.
Olyphant
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great grouper sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great sandwiches. Grouper reuben sandwich is so delicious. They also have great homemade potato chips with ranch dressing. Make sure you try them. We also had a turkey sandwich and a meatloaf sandwich the first night of our trip. They were also wonderful except one thing on the meatloaf was not good mayo, next time I would not get the mayo on it. Staff is so friendly and very helpful. We were there one nite and said we would be back and when we did get back they remembered us. Last year we had salads here and they were also great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    45
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yuummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

we were heading down to vero beach looking for some seafood stuff when we came to the boardwall and couldnt find it we were a little upset so we walked into the red onion and were amazed with the amount of tables and all the sanwitches and salds were amazing woild definetly go back for lunch again.

Helpful?
Thank ajonesnut
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The BEST Grouper Reuben and grilled asparagus sandwiches...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013


whats not to like about their grouper reuben...always fresh fish, and the grilled asparagus sandwich w/ the tangy sauce...not for the dieters, but YUM. Add their homemade potato chips for a real treat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avilla, Indiana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“"Super Specialty Sandwiches"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

From the moment you step into this little eatery, you will be struck with pleasant aromas to tickle your senses. The Crunchy Grouper Reuben is delectable, and the Grilled Asparagus sandwich with tomato, grilled onion, melted cheese, and honey key lime pie is creative and tasty. It would be even better if their homemade potato chips were included with the sandwiches (rather than an add-on price of $2.50) All in all, a great little spot!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank avilladawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City NY
Level Contributor
230 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“No tears at The Red Onion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Red Onion is such a good sandwich shop that we went there three times in a five day trip. The Crunchy Grouper Rueben is wonderful. Grilled asparagus sandwich and Caesar salad are very good too, as is the 'Red Onion' turkey sandwich. There are a few tables, or just take the food home or out to a beach picnic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GC_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Onion Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing