We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of France in isolation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge Carnish

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carnish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Carnish
Ranked #1 of 1 Carnish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A bit of France in isolation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a perfect spot for this luxurious, well appointed, modern Auberge. Spectacularly run by Richard and his staff. The room had one of the most unbelievable views of the bay, where one could watch the tide roll in and out. The room was very spacious, well appointed, with a large luxurious bathroom.
Meals were all exceptional with fresh local seafood, venison, and produce. The eggs come from Richard's hens that live across the street. The breakfast pancakes surrounded by fresh fruit were to die for, as were the lemon crepes served with lemon custard ice cream for desert at night.
During dining hours, noise from the dining room was heard upstairs in our room, though it did not last long and was not an intrusion.

Room Tip: Choose the large room with the king size bed at the top of the stair, #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    22
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
120
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night - final night of an 8 day trip to Skye & Outer Hebrides. Accommodation varied from Kinloch House to B & Bs. This was by far the best out of a good standard overall. Would endorse everything other reviewers have said about food. Husband's venison best he ever tasted Also had an excellent bottle of reasonably priced vintage champagne. The accommodation is nothing short of superb. Rooms are very modern and tastefully furnished. A lot of thought has gone into the overall design. Beds especially very comfortable with luxurious bedding. Also roomy well designed bathroom and good lighting. The thing that really stood out for us was quality without pretention. The owner/chef and his staff are approachable, friendly & welcoming whilst delivering a relaxed but thoroughly professional service in a wonderful setting. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

It is with a heavy heart that I write this review: on the one hand, Richard well deserves the smashing success that he will soon enjoy. On the other hand, he will very quickly be so successful that it will be impossible to get a room or a table. The view is spectacular. The inn itself is wonderful. The food absolutely divine----Richard is a very talented chef. My only advice: book quickly or you will miss out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlChristoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hubby and I had already booked our favourite Lewis B&B for accommodation, when we 'discovered' Auberge Carnish. We opted for dinner here on our last night on the Islands and are so glad we did.

Yes, it is about 50 minutes from Stornoway by car, but it is also via stunningly gorgeous scenery, on quiet roads and with a view over the beach to die for. We love all things French, so a Bretton chef of many years experience and also highly recommended by our B&B owner, working with best Scottish ingredients, how could we not? So off we set on a mild September evening, hoping for a nice feed. What we found was so much more than that...

Jo-Ann, front of house, is a friendly, welcoming hostess and offered us the choice of sitting with the other residents in their lovely relaxing louge area. We were hungry and a little worried about the dark drive back, so we opted to go straight to the table.

The menu looked amazing - the 'daily' one had enough to feed us for a week, and when she added the specials board, we would've needed two dinners to try everything we fancied! Hubby opted for the squid and crab-cake and I chose the mussels done in garlic with breadcrumb topping. They were both delicious, the fish-cake packed full of fish and no tattie in sight (I can't abide this British need to stuff fish-cake full of potato. It's just not on.) but I have to say, the mussels were inspired. Reminiscent of a round dish with individual 'holes' hubby had had l'escargot in Montmartre - on one of our first ever long-weekends together, so approaching our ten year wedding anniversary next month, it was a lovely memory. And the thick, roasted (?)garlicky sauce was absolutely delicious! I was forced to share, I'm afraid - and we both scraped the toasty,breadcrumbed top with the excellent home-made bread, and then more bread, Jo-Ann willingly offered. Hog heaven!

Honestly, if it hadn't got any better than that, it would've been well worth the drive from Stornoway, but it did... Both our mains - mine was the much lauded monkfish and scallop dish, (it is as good as the other reviewers say!) while hubby opted for some lamb - both were fabulous. Sweet creamy mustard and dill with the fish and although I'm not a fan of lamb as rare as hubby asked for, it was tender, flavoursome and juicy - I'd definitely order it here!

We probably should've resisted pudding - but that would have been to deny ourselves the most amazing lemony crepes with lemon curd ice-cream, and jamaican banana cake with toffee ice-cream to die for! The lightest banana cake ever, it was served with a generous puddle of creme anglaise as well as the ice-cream. Our kind of pud and no tiny scrapings of sauce/jus for this chef. The crepes too, were as you'd expect from a Bretton - light and moreish and perfect if you don't want desert to be too 'filling'. We'd say the three courses left you plesantly full and we sat on for another half hour with fresh speciality tea, before heading back to town.

One final point, if you are worried about the drive from some of the more populated bits of the island - don't be. The roads are so quiet and there are lots of easy passing places, should you encounter anyone else. Go early and stop off at the beach and take in the views of West Lewis and even if you are driving back in the dark, you will enjoy the experience of clear skies and scurrying wildlife around you.

We enjoyed the evening at Auberge so much, we are currently organising to return for a 3 night stay next year, as this particular part of Lewis is like nowhere else on earth. One of the best kept secrets of these Islands and we hope to make it a regular place for some peaceful together time in the future.

We love what Richard and Jo-Ann have built here and we heartily encourage you to try it. You'll love the peace and tranquility of the West of Lewis - and we're absolutely certain sure you'll love Auberge Carnish too.

Room Tip: There are upstairs rooms with lovely beech views, but the fully accessible ground floor room which c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillyG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I was invited to Auberge for a business dinner by associates in the Western Isles. What a treat! The weather was poor but it would take more than that to spoil what is clearly a stunning location. The staff made us all feel very much at home prior to a wonderful meal. The portions weren't too minimalistic, as is the fashion in some restaurants, nor were they too big either - spot on so far as I'm concerned. As we enjoyed a drink after our meal the chef, and owner - Richard, put in a welcome appearance and graciously accepted our compliments. Can't wait to go back with my family.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Shetlander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stunning view from our well presented room, lots of big fluffy towels and lovely touches to make us feel very at home. Warm friendly welcome and delicious food, lots to choose from on the menu and very well priced. Highly recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Auberge Carnish is a fantastic hide away, mixing great food with beautiful scenery and relaxing accommodation. Greeted with a friendly welcome from Steve and a wonderful variety of locally sourced produce cooked to the finest french cuisine standard by Richard. The restaurant situated overlooking the beach, provided stunning scenic views adding to the experience. We very much enjoyed our stay and will certainly be recommending it to our family and friends.
OU Tu es tout simplement le meilleur!
A & L Room 2

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnish
11.3 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
27.8 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Carnish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Carnish

Property: Auberge Carnish
Address: 5 Carnish, Carnish HS2 9EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Carnish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carnish
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious, relaxed, purpose-built guesthouse in a lovely corner of the Isle of Lewis, with fine dining, an excellent wine list and spectacular views of Uig Sands from your bed, bath and dining table. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing