We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I, and three of my work colleagues, stayed at the Best Western. Of the four rooms, only my room had everything working properly. One colleague's room door didn't lock, another had a non-working air conditioner and refrigerator and my boss' toilet wasn't working. They KNEW that the toilet wasn't working so when he checked in they gave him a plunger! This hotel is within 1/2 mile of several other hotels (and is adjacent to a Holiday Inn). Rather than comping him the room and finding him a room elsewhere, they just gave him the plunger! They claimed that the hotel was full so they couldn't put him in a room with a working toilet. In each room (or, at least, in mine), there was a notice that "if something isn't right, let us know and we will fix it". What a bad joke.

I will NEVER stay at this hotel again--too much competition in this area to allow this sort of terrible treatment to happen.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerVeniceFl, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
We are truly sorry we did not meet your expectations. We certainly don't purposefully try to make our guests stay a bad joke. We wish you would give us a chance to show you a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Maryanne Henry
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    138
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
243
224
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The front desk staff, specifically Angel, made sure that all we needed was provided. The room was clean and luxurious with a very comfortable bed. We were in the middle of a move. The hotel was a great place to come home and rest. When family come to visit and we need overflow space, I'll call this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine4318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duck Key, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

New hotel with clean rooms. Place is nice but kind of in the middle of nowhere. Beach is a fifteen minute ride. Wifi is slower than my 3G air card. Breakfast is included and is good. No drinks allowed at the small pool which was a bummer. Great burger joint across the street.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joecooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Normally, we book a vacation condo or vacation home while in FL, but for this last-minute trip we chose this all-suites Best Western in Venice, FL. I want the comfort of a residence when I'm gone for a week or more, and this hotel gave us so much --a well-furnished, good-sized room with comfortable sitting area, nice heated outdoor pool, a fitness room we both wanted to use,and a lovely complimentary breakfast including fresh, locally grown grapefruit! We were pleased to be referred to a nearby mineral springs spa, and given free admission passes -- a $40 value--where we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, the mineral springs and an outstanding yoga session. Staff were friendly and helpful, they really went the extra mile to assist us with recommendations and referrals. You'll notice several personal touches and attention to detail you won't see at many chain hotels. While the location is just off I75, it's a quick drive to local Venice beaches, and there are plenty of excellent restaurants and great shopping nearby (5-10 min.) There are also restaurants within walking distance that we didn't try... Siesta Key in Sarasota is a half-hour's drive. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKSt_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We had a nice heated pool with plenty of towels and a breakfast buffet with lots to eat. Maybe I haven't stayed at enough nice places with attentive staff, but it made me appreciate our stay in Venice. The place is was such great condition that we thought the hotel was new, but had been open for years.

The only suggestion I would have is about the breakfast, or more specificially, morning shift supervision. One manager hovered around to make sure we had enough of everything -- we did. But you can be vigilant without looking like you're ready to pounce when something goes wrong. You work at a great place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_thesequel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boisbriand, Qc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Ambassador suites Venice from Feb 27 to March 11. We enjoyed every minutes of our stay.
1. Very Quiet room on 2nd Floor
2. Nice layout on Queen suites with living room area and kitchennette. Very clean
3. I would like to point out 1 employee. Mr. Angel at the front desk: This gentlemen was super. He speak English, Spanish and French...Wow!!. We are from Montreal , Quebec, Canada and we speak French but are fully bilingual . We really appreciated the fact that Angel spoke to us in French the whole 12 days we stayed there even if we replied in English. Very nice, he made our stay most enjoyable and refered us some good place to eat, visit and alway inquire about our day on our return at the hotel.
4. All staff was very nice, always smiling and helpfull.
5. Breakfast was good and had something for everyone's taste.

In general I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Great location to go visit, golfing, beached, etc...Venice is a nice city...I fell in love with the West Coast of Florida!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

My month long stay ended in one week. We made reservations on-line and we're told at check-in the rate changed after first week even though our confirmation did not state the change. They put us in an end room knowing that there was no internet connection. We were told they were working on it and by end of week should work. Stayed patient up to that time and finally they found us another room.

The bedsheets and comforter did not seem clean in both rooms. The 2nd room had a cigarette odor. Asked them to please clean carpet, room and bedding since I have an allergy to smoke. Came back and it looked like they did nothing. Stripped the bed myself and asked for clean bedding but the staff could not find any clean. Found there was no mattress cover on the bed and the bathroom floor was not clean. The desk clerks said they were getting many complaints about the bedding cleanliness. At that point I checked out immediately.

The air-conditioning is loud. The breakfast is just okay but it ends at 9:00 which most places stay open till 10:00. Tables were not cleaned.

I called back the next day to talk with the Manager. She denied all my complaints even though their desk staff talked with me about the complaints. Talked with couple others occupants and they also had problems. The staff were friendly, but did not feel like they were doing anything to help the problems. If cleanliness is important to you at a hotel, Best Western is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank california0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
4.6 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Venice
3.5 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#5 of 13 in Venice
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice

Property: Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
Address: 400 Commercial Ct, Venice, FL 34292-1647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Venice
#3 Family Hotel in Venice
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing