We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“SUCKED” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SUCKED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Reserved two king beds with a frig, coffee maker, microwave and continental breakfast ...received full size bed none of the appliances even though I went down and asked for at least a coffee maker no breakfast. The bath wouldn't make a bath for my grand daughter ...so we had to fill the tub from the shower head, on the second night it wouldn't drain ....ohhh and cold water only. Definite don't do

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank MEWalker68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    11
    16
    40
See reviews for
27
29
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I usually check tripadvisor for ratings on hotels, but this time I was just in a hurry to get a room and take off with me two children for the weekend. Boy, I REEEALY wish I had checked this site!
Check in was ok, I held the room with a CC and wanted to pay cash upon arrival. Didn't know they would want another $100 cash for deposit, didn't have another $100 so on the CC it went, no big deal. Got my cards and went around to the back of the property. Passed the pool area with some not so desirable looking people sitting by the pool boozing it up. Whatever...on to my room. Opened the door, beds not made, pictures off the wall and laying on the floor...called the desk and they advised it was not on the operational list and they would bring me keys to a new room....which was no where near the pool like I had originally requested when I booked. Our room was ok...but it stunk, of smoke. Carpet had burns in it, only one towel and no washcloths. Had to get more from front desk, they smelled like smoke. Wifi was free, but extremely weak. I think my biggest complaint is the people that they let live here from week to week. Like I stated before, they were less than desirable! I'll never be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you have a life long dream of staying in a place that has roaches, rats, dirty rooms, rude employees with zero professionalism, people peeing over the balcony and double charging you then this is the place for you. There are residents who live on site who are by far the pedo type. They will molest you children in a heart beat so keep them on a short leash. If you want to be able to take a shower be sure to bring your own towels because you either wont have any or you have to wait until 12pm for them to be washed as there are no extras. If you are trying to beat the summer heat don't count on getting ice. There is only one machine for the entire hotel and it gives you exactly 3 ice cubes. If you are brave enough to stay for more than one night and need to do laundry be prepared to wait. There is only one washer and dryer and the "residents" camp out by them all night. There is a bar downstairs which would be okay if there weren't drunk toothless wonders sitting outside yelling until the wee hours of the night. Don't worry though if you should need emergency service the police are always on the property checking on the pedophiles and quieting down the drunken bar goers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Not only was the room a filthy mess..with bugs mold and a musky smell but i watched and recorded drug use and selling out of the back rooms by where the owners stay!! after reporting the problem the charged me a smoking fee which should of never been charged and then they charged me for an invisisble cat that never existed!!! I called to talk to owners and was not permitted to do so by the manager AMANDA whom proceede to hang up on me 3 times before i decided to drive all the way back to try to get my money that i still havent been refunded so now i am calling a lawyer and the non emergency venice police the druggies in the back was ridiculous and what was even more shocking the owners son was all buddied up to the drug dealers!!! please be careful if u stay here!!!my advice avoid it like the plague!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I booked a room for one night while visiting family. We were told the hotel had just been renovated. I saw no evidence of that. The room had dirty walls, mismatched furniture, newer tv but remote didn't work. Broken lamp. The noise from the bar downstairs kept us up. Had to call manager because there were kids running up and down at 11:30-12 at night. Kids playing on the elevater. My breaking point was getting up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, I turned the light on and there were at least a dozen roaches. Nasty. Towel rack and tp holder falling off wall. I was so disgusted. Would never go back. No sleep and had to pay almost $80. Never again.

Room Tip: Awful. Don't waste your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KristiLynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Booked a last minute trip to Venice and stayed here for a night. Arrived at 5 pm and requested a renovated room. The first room was not cleanonce we got to it, the second room was ready but once we checked it out laughed about the "renovations". The room faced Tamiami Trail and the traffic was indeed very noisy. There was a lot of water that accumulated in front I the rooms from the AC drainage pipes. Also, had I not of been with my husband I would not have stayed here alone with my kids. The front staff was pleasant and accommodating but they cannot compensate for the lack of care the owners give to this motel. Both rooms we entered had a large water heater in the closet which prevented us from properly hanging our clothes and with no closet door this seems like a child hazard. The exposed drain lines and pipes under the sink was just poor planning . The furniture was all mismatched and had been pretty banged up. The coffee maker was filthy as was the soap dish. The shower had loose tile around the faucet . The pros: close proximity to Venice Beach The cons: noisy traffic, filthy cleaning standards and shabby renovation work.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank nickie218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I came back after a visit a few years ago. how else can you describe this other than HORRIBLE!!! Unless you get a renovated room by the pool, STAY AWAY! For prices of 159.00-179.00 .... NO WAY! Unless its an emergency, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!

Room Tip: the only decent rooms are the rooms by the pool....they most likely will not put you there unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#7 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
2.9 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador Suites Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1710 Tamiami Trl S, Venice, FL 34293-1635 (Formerly Venice Palm Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Palm Hotel Venice
Rodeway Inn Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing