We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota
Nearby Hotels
$93
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Venice)
$66
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Venice(Venice)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Motel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
147
76
28
25
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
76
28
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskburger jointgulf beachesrestaurants within walking distancecracker barrellate at nightspecial thankshotel is cleanparking lothousekeeping staffcomplimentary breakfastseaninterstatepetsarasotamuffinspier
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 299 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend due to a death in the family. They gave us a reasonable group rate. The hotel was clean. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They gave us a late check out on the day of the funeral.
The pool was small, the workout room only had treadmills, the food was not that great (they serve breakfast) but tolerable. Overall the hotel served it's purpose for what we needed.
The main thing for me was cleanliness and friendly staff.
I have no complaints.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Poolgirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Under the circumstance of your stay with us we would like to thank you and all your family for choosing to stay with us. We are hopeful that your next visit with us will be more pleasant and even better then the first stay. Our condolences go out to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff at the front desk is great--each young lady was friendly, helpful, engaging. (--Especially Roxy, who always greeted us with a happy smile.) But-- past the lobby, things go down hill. It's the little things that count, and here the hotel fails. INTERNET: --the worst access I've ever encountered in any respectable property. It's OK in the afternoon, when guests are gone, are out, or have not yet arrived. But by early evening, as the hotel begins to fill up, the Wi-Fi slows to a crawl, often so few bars you cannot even pull up your e-mail. I travel with a lap top with a great number of business files on it, and this alone would be enough to discourage any return. BREAKFAST--I'm convinced the omelets were Pre-Fab. Ugh! At other Holiday Inn Express motels, the scrambled eggs are fresh. Why not here? HOUSEKEEPING-- we stayed three nights. Never was a second bar of soap left, or the first one refreshed. And I think we were short-changed on fresh towels one day, too. ROOM-- clean and comfortable, yes, but a tad smaller than other HIX properties. (--This seems to be a bit older location, starting to show its age.) I've traveled a great deal in recent years, both for business and pleasure, and have learned to rely on Holiday Inn Express in places like McAlester, Okla.; Mt. Airy, N.C.; Metropolis, Ill.; Great Barrington, Mass.; & Abingdon, Va., to name just a few of the best. I know Venice, like many, is a franchise operation. But a note to HQ: you need to do a better job of inspections lest Venice diminish the reputation of an otherwise fine chain.

Room Tip: Try to avoid, even though there seems to be nothing noticeably better in Venice in terms of location and comfort. Too bad, inasmuch as Venice is one of the most appealing places on Florida's west coast.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaktownboy_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear oaktownboy_37,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you found our staff to be great. We would like to apologize for the challenges you had with our Internet connections and our breakfast selections was less than satisfactory. We also apologize for the experience you had with your room and the housekeeping service you received fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our three day stay turned into thirteen days due to our bank not processing our mortgage as promised. The Holiday Inn staff was very accomodating and helpful. The hotel's proximity to US 75 is a plus for travelers passing through.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tsc07747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us while awaiting the process of your closing date in order to move to the area. We look forward to seeing you with in our community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Customer Service we got at this hotel rivaled the service we got a much more expensive hotels. The staff is very friendly, welcoming, and beyond accommodating. From check in to check out, we didn't have a single issue. Breakfast was good, and the room was comfortable. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Andrew C,

As always we are extremely happy when our guests are happy with their stay. I will alert all the staff to take note that all their hard work to provide our guests with exceptional service has been noticed and praised. We look forward to your future visits to the Venice area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My Father and I stayed at this hotel and were waiting for an auto transport company to pick up my Dad's car to relocate to our new home. The transport company did not arrive at the time promised and we spent hours waiting in the hotels breakfast lobby. The staff, Anne and Amy, were so understanding and sympatric to our situation. They made an unbearable situation much easier to bear. We couldn't have asked for more helpful and awesome support staff. Kudos for selecting such wonderful employees.

Room Tip: No need for improvement... just plain awesome. Thank you, Jane
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Jane C,

The experience you have as a guest is the same experience you would have as a friend or family member. We treat all our guests as family or friends and always do the best we can do to exceed our guest expectations. Thank you for taking time to let our staff know how pleased you were with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews