We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Girl's trip to visit a newly retired friend took us to Venice FLA area and this hotel. Arrived around 11pm and had booked a double room, as three of us were traveling....at check-in we were informed that we were getting the last room in the hotel...and it was a king bed only. The young man (Jason maybe) at the desk was very helpful, giving us a rollaway and leaving a note for the manager. The room issue was resolved the next morning and we were given the double we reserved, however, we had to suggest to the manager the first night should be comp'd as this was not suggested by her (but she quickly agreed) The hotel was packed and at breakfast our first morning (breakfast starts at 6:30, we arrived at 7am) many food items, including the cinnamon rolls were completely gone. OK - you know you have a full house, prepare enough food! The breakfast area is small, maybe 10 tables and there is a small room off the lobby with one computer for guests to use. Rooms were fine, a bit old and some stains on the sheets, but the beds were comfortable. The room was hot and the air conditioning (in both rooms we had) was not working well and did not cool the room. The tub drained slowly, again in both rooms and the sink had no water pressure. Pets are allowed at this hotel and I have never been in a hotel with so many dogs! The entire area is dog crazy with dogs allowed in shops, restaurants and grocery stores! We spent one day at Myakka State park, very enjoyable, take the air boat tour for guaranteed alligator sightings!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I would like to apologize for any incovenices that you may have experianced during your stay. I would also like to have you contact me directly to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    73
    28
    23
    18
See reviews for
84
81
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have been staying here for 2 weeks, and I have to say that the woman who works at the desk in the afternoon shift, Jennifer, has been a great host. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area. She is very helpful, very polite, handles clients very friendly and professional, and I think she is a great asset to your hotel. You should make it a point to hang on to her, as she will definitely leave a good impression on people, and will pretty much guarantee your customers to return next time they are in Venice. The breakfast every morning is very convenient, and saves a meal out of the wallet. The hotel and rooms were always clean, and being able to do laundry in house was great..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
On behalf of our staff I would like to thank you for having the pleasure of hosting your stay while you visited Venice, FL. We are please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express in Venice, FL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We are frequent Holiday Inn Express guests. When we needed a pet friendly hotel last minute we were pleased to find this Holiday Inn. The location was perfect for our needs. We found the staff to be both gracious and flexible. The management team stopped each day to assure we had all we needed. Everyone worked as a team and everyone was friendly. We had young children in our group and the breakfast staff each day went out of their way to make sure they were taken care of and to assure mom and dad it was not inconvenient. We will be returning ti Venice and we will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends and family traveling this way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
The staff at the Holiday Inn Express in Venice FL Would likle to thank you for your kind words. THe team at the Holiday Inn Express in Venice, FL are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Hotel has good bones but has problems. Beds are old and worn out. Terrible nights sleep and back aches for both hubby and I. Our bathroom floor was filthy, grout and tiles. Desk was very cheaply made. All furniture has lots of nicks in them. Wall have marks on them. Blood ?splatter on window sheers.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2JBryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
The staff at the Holiday Inn Express in Venice, FL would like to apologize for any inconenices that you may have expreranced during your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly reguarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Venice, FL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had an overnight visit to Venice and we chose the Holiday Inn Express to stay in. We are so glad we did. From checkin to checkout it was a great experience. What we liked best was the full breakfast served at our leisure. I never seen so many choices. From hot selections like sausage, both links and patties, scrambled eggs and their famous warm cinnimon rolls to a wide variety of other pasteries, breads, fruit and even boiled eggs. They featured a variety of cereals and yougarts. The beverage selections covered a wide variety of choices. The best part of all was Shirley our breakfast hostess. She was very friendly and very attentive to all the guests needs. We had a wonderful experience and look foward to retuning soon.
Thank You Very Much,
John R. King Jr. and Howie Peterson

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Our Staff at THe holiday Inn Express in Venice, FL appreciate the kind words. Our staff strive to provide the best service to our guests. We look forward to your future trips to Holiday Inn Express in Venice, FL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I do a lot of traveling so I've seen my share of hotels. The things that stood out to me at this Holiday Inn location were the cleanliness of the rooms as well as the friendly and helpful staff. The walls, carpet and furniture were all clean with no stains or soiled fabric. I spoke with Kari at the front desk with 2 special requests and there was no hesitation to help me out. She was enjoyable to talk to and I could tell that she likes working with people. I would stay here again if I visit this area in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Venice FL for your accomidations. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to any future visits that you may make to the Holiday Inn Express in Venice, FL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and i enjoyed the entire experience. Breakfasts were wonderful. Very friendly and courteous staff. We had the pleasure of persoanlly dealing with Christine, Kari and Jennifer, and many others, at the front desk and they all made our stay a very pleasant one.

The hotel was exceptionally clean. The rooms were comfortable and the hosuekeeping staff made quite an impression on my wife and i.

The friendly smiles from all the employees made us feel very welcome. We will gladly return in the Spring.

The oinly concern was the pressue in the warter faucets in the bathrooms. It was very weak for water power. Possibly a pressure issue.

Please extend to all our "thanks" for a job well done.
Skip & Ann L, York, Pa (Home of the York Pepermint Pattie)

Room Tip: Sunny side was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George Skip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in venice, FL. Our staff enjoy hearing about our guest stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Venice, FL. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
3.2 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Venice
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,208 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
3.4 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#4 of 13 in Venice
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota

Property: Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota
Address: 380 Commercial Ct, Venice, FL 34292-1647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Beach, our Venice hotel is close to Sarasota, and offers free WiFi, hot breakfast, and an outdoor pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota Hotel Venice
Holiday Inn Venice
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing