We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday Night Dinner”
Review of Fins at Sharky's

Fins at Sharky's
Ranked #15 of 242 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Saturday Night Dinner”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

two other couples joined us for dinner,the decor was chic modern sort of florida style.Nice fish tank. The view was outstanding and it was cloudy so no sunset.
The service diligent and very good.
The food was very good to just mediocre,one of the group had a great porkchop,but my cazuela de marisco was dispointing.Some of the seafood was perfectly cooked but the sauce was white and bland not inline with the tantalizing description of a spanish dish.
Over all good and we will give it another try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    246
    104
    53
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey for a beach crowd”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

To celebrate our one year anniversary, my husband and I decided to try the new Fins at Sharkey's in Venice, FLA. We had been married on the beach and celebrated our wedding at Sharkey's so we felt this newer, upscale restaurant would be a nice way to celebrate year one.

The service was very good. Our waitress was aware of our celebration and seemed to pay extra attention.

Certainly can't complain about the atmosphere or the beautiful view of the ocean. Understated elegance, tastefully decorated. The tables were placed so you weren't listening to others conversations. Well done!

The food was very pricey and did not live up to what you'd expect. I had cobia, a lovely white fish. It was beautifully cooked. My husband had the sea bass and was very happy with it. The accompaniments left a lot to be desired. My cobia came with coconut risotto. I asked for the cheese risotto instead ( was on the menu). What I got was a pile of dry, cheesy rice, not risotto, which is supposed to be creamy and soft. The asparagus was overlooked and meager. My husband had black rice, which he didn't like at all and brocollini, which was soggy. The bread plate with assorted spreads was delicious. All in all, a bit of a disappointment.

If you want a fun atmosphere and basic, good beachy food, stick with Sharkey's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Savor Sarasota and FIns! EXCELLENT”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were looking for a place that had great food and a beautiful gulf side view. There are several in the Sarasota area, but Fins is the best! The food is outstanding, try the grilled watermelon salad! Our entrees were also delicious - yellow tail cooked perfectly. Service was wonderful and it could not have been a better evening. The price was great due to Savor Sarasota, but the regular prices although higher are well worth the money!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank couplefromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great find.”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

What a great location! The menu is varied and complete. The service was fantastic. He food was even better! This is on the upper end price wise but well worth it. Truly great food. We stayed after at the bar waiting to watch the sunset and the bar service was very friendly, too. Best part, they accept reservations. This is a great find and is worth traveling from Sarasota.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,915 reviews
1,664 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,929 helpful votes
“Sharky's on the Pier--the upscale version”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Fins at Sharky's is located adjacent to the more established and more casual Sharky's on the Pier in Venice, Florida. Fins is advertised as "upscale dining with an unparalleled Gulf view" and "Venice's premiere waterfront dining experience" and "upscale dining with unobstructed views of the Gulf in a casual atmosphere." It is all of that and more. It's also Sharky's without hot dogs. It is fresh seafood, sushi, premium cuts of steak and chops and pork and handcrafted cocktails. Reservations are requested and available online so you know that Fins isn't flip-flops and halter tops and shorts. You take an elevator to reach the indoor and outdoor terrace.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins at Sharky's also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fins at Sharky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing