We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food and comfortable atmosphere! Can't miss here.”

The Living Room Venice
Ranked #43 of 243 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Comfort food and comfortable atmosphere! Can't miss here.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The moment you walk in the door, you feel welcome and comfortable. Staff and owners greet you with a smile. Food is freshly prepared comfort food, with no frozen or prepared dishes here. You can taste the difference. The menu is limited, but all the choices are very good and well prepared. The service is friendly and prompt. You will leave with a smile on your face and a pleasantly full stomach. You will be back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBVeniceFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    23
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Endwell, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Five of us greatly enjoyed our dinner on a Thursday evening. We made a reservation for 6:30pm and glad we did. It's an intimate (relatively small) space, with a small bar. The night we were there, a keyboardist was playing and happily took requests. We enjoyed the instrumental Frank Sinatra and Nat King Cole, but he played a wide range of genres. Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere, attractive interior. The food is OUTSTANDING. We had the Turkey Lasagna, Turkey Chile, Mac & Cheese, and the Chicken Stew (two of us ordered the Lasagna). Portions are ample, and all of us cleaned our plates. Food is served hot, very fresh ingredients, there were no weaknesses in what we ordered. The lasagna can take extra time to prepare, but we were not in a hurry. Nice wine selection. If you're trying to eat low fat and low carb, this is probably not the best choice for you. Great place to just relax and enjoy your company. There's also a small bar that was full when we arrived. Only weakness was the service. Our server got confused when she was serving the entrees, dropped items off several of the plates (butter pats), and never mentioned any specials (although there was a board outside the main entrance. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort food like home cooked”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Just made our second visit last evening. First visited when they opened. The word must be getting around, it was crowded by 6:30. Everything on the menu is something you've had before, but not prepared like this. They want you to feel like you're eating at a friend's house. The recipes are unique and delicious. We try something different each time. They range from incredible macaroni and cheese to sausage and peppers over pasta to a killer sloppy joe hoagie like my mom made. The temptation is to over order appetizers and entrees because they all look great..but beware the portions are generous. The Living Room is a MUST VISIT.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent comfort food,and service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent food and service. Southern comfort food, not for the faint of heart--if I had any suggestions it would be to add more low cal diet friendly food. But, I had the chicken stew and
it was awesome. Two of us had the lasagna and we were told it would take around 30 minutes. No problem, they brought us some pub cheese, celery and crackers to hold us over. Wine was excellent, as was our server, Sue. Very nice atmosphere, good, fresh, home cooked food. Small place so, we are happy to have them, especially when season is over. I fear when word gets out we won't get a table. Fresh food wins out for me every time. Good job!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evieleigh0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Comfort food and comfortable atmosphere! Can't miss here.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The moment you walk in the door, you feel welcome and comfortable. Staff and owners greet you with a smile. Food is freshly prepared comfort food, with no frozen or prepared dishes here. You can taste the difference. The menu is limited, but all the choices are very good and well prepared. The service is friendly and prompt. You will leave with a smile on your face and a pleasantly full stomach. You will be back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBVeniceFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Room Venice also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Living Room Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing