We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and comfortable”
Review of Island Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Breeze Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed March 12, 2008

1st time in Venice! This is a great little "blast from the past" hotel in Venice. Had a wonderful time in Venice during the recent Art Show (always the first weekend in March in Venice) and a nice stay at the Isalnd Breeze Inn, Very close to downtown. Had a few friends stay at the 'Inn at the Beach' hotel right on the beach -- also VERY nice, but more expensive.

Our hotel Staff was very helpful (needed iron) and the landscaping in front of the rooms was delightful. Only neg. is that the bathroom/shower is very small (at elast in our room).

The Clock restaurant is a good diner for breakfast (right down the street) and you can't beat Althea's restaurant for earl bird/HH prices and 2-for-1 drink specials.

The sunset beach party in Casey Key (Sat. night) is a hoot!
If you haven't been to Venice, GO!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tresh20723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 119 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2008

We stayed at the Island Breeze Inn this past weekend and were very happy with it. The rate was reasonable for "in season" at $156 with tax for a king bed. Property is definitely "old Florida" and not fancy or particularly updated, but it is clean and within walking distance to downtown (Venice Avenue). Bath was small w/ shower stall. They have a small heated pool on the property and approximately 30 units. Amenities are basic - shampoo and soap. They also have small fridge, microwave, and TV.

The bed, however, was VERY firm... no pillowtops here.

Also, be careful of the shower - comes on very hot.

But, for a basic room in a good location, you can't beat it.

We had breakfast at The Clock across the street one morning. It is a chain and is inexpensive, but good. Our 2nd breakfast the next day at Althea's on Miami Ave. was huge.

Dinner at the Crow's Nest was just ok. Dinner at Luna Italian was, again, HUGE! Do not get the regular size pasta -- the small size is enough for 2 or 3.

All in all, a relaxing weekend -- and with the Arts & Crafts Festival in town, there was plenty to see.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Just spent 5 days in Venice looking at homes. Our realtor suggested the Island Breeze. I went on the website and compared. The only thing that the pictures omitted was the charm. It was very affordable, and absolutely spotless and clean. Even though it is on the main road, it is set back and in an excellent location. I explained that we were arriving late at night, so they left our door unlocked and the keys inside! The rooms are small but charming, and chairs and tables right outside the rooms. The pool was very clean and private. The staff was very friendly and very informative on the area. It's not the Ritz, but we weren't looking for that. The Island Breeze is "a little jewel".

Cleveland, Ohio

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank dinsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Island Breeze Inn a couple of weeks ago and had a wonderful time. This is a great 1950's style motel that looks as though it was just recently remodeled. The place was spotless. My only complaint is that the hot water in the shower was very hit or miss....it was either scalding or non-existent. I don't know if it's the same for every room, but it was in #12. I certainly wouldn't let the water situation deter me from staying at the Island Breeze again though. It's a great place and a great price. My husband and I will return again. Also, there are food options within walking distance of the hotel. Venice has a very cute down town area that's within a couple of blocks of the hotel. It's perfectly safe to walk. Clocks restaurant was good for breakfast, but I would avoid Sharkey's. The beach at Sharkey's is great for shark toothing and sunbathing, but the food leaves a lot to be desired. I'm pretty sure that the crab in my seafood nachos was canned and the shrimp were not deveined. Yuck!! By far, the best food we had during our stay was at the Crow's Nest and we found a nice little bar just a couple of blocks from the hotel called the Tap & Cork that had a great atmosphere as well. They don't have any food there, but they have a slew of take out menus so that you can have it delivered while you enjoy a cold brew.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FLChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2007

We have stayed at the Island Breeze Inn several times in the past two years and WILL continue to go back. The staff went out of thier way to be helpful and informative about the area. We arrived late at night one weekend and we were unable to check in , so we had to go down the street to one of those chain hotels. It was the worst night out away from home. I will never stay at another CHAIN hotel again. The service and friendliness that you get when you stay at the Island Breeze Inn will have you coming back. We have had many friends go to Venice and stay at the IBI and they also will continue to return. It;s unfortunate that a few guest in the past were accustom to the Ritz Carlton and didn't have room service or someone turning down thier beds at night with a mint in place, and gave such bad reviews to such a wonderful place. Thanks for the accomidations and continue the great work.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank landryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Very cute inn, definitely not a 5-star resort but it's quaint and blocks to sun drenched shopping areas as well as the relaxing beaches of Venice. The effiency we had was very accomodating, clean and peaceful, the Pool is private and realxing and the staff was extremely helpful. We would definitely stay again, but note the cancellation policiies that were not mentioned when we booked the room.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcastady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2006

Just came back from a three day stay at the Island Breeze. Don't expect a lot and you will be happy. The location will only work if you have a car. Its too far to walk both to the wonderful downtown Venice shopping area or to the beach. Lets see, you can walk to a liquor store, a farmers type market and a restaurant called The Clock that (though we didn't go in it) looked like it'd have some pretty good breakfasts.
I don't know what the previous post was talking about. WHAT "continental breakfast"? The only thing they had available was rather stale coffee at the front desk. Bring a coffee maker if you need that morning coffee.
All in all, this motel was ok. The location was safe, it was fairly quiet, the other occupants were quiet and respectful, the lady at the front desk was the nicest I think I've ever encountered at a hotel, no matter how fancy and the room was adequate. The small pool area is very nice, it appears to have been totally redone recently, but the pool was ice cold. I suppose they would have gladly turned the heat up (or on) if we'd asked. The room DOES have a small refrigerator and a microwave. It also has a small shower and no tub. I'd stay there again, probably. Just don't expect to walk to either the beach or downtown Venice!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#6 of 13 in Venice
178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Breeze Inn

Address: 340 Tamiami Trl S, Venice, FL 34285-2422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $67 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Venice Island, Florida, the Island Breeze Inn offers sparkling rooms full of charm, modern amenities, and exceptional customer service! Just blocks from palm tree-lined avenues full of antique shops, boutiques, and cafes, and only one mile to beautiful Venice Beach, the Island Breeze Inn is the BEST VALUE in the historic district! Free parking, free cable TV and Wi-Fi?, Heated pool, microwave and refrigerator in each room...The friendliest staff and our manager on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Island Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Breeze Inn Of Venice Hotel Venice
Island Breeze Hotel Venice
Island Breeze Motel Venice
Island Breeze Inn Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing