We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old slice of Florida”
Review of Island Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Breeze Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed January 1, 2012

An old hotel whose sign noted that the hotel was celebrating its 60th year at the end of 2011 was a pleasant enough stay for a night. I did stop in for the night at this hotel having read the review from the 4th edition of the Lonely Planet: Florida travel book. Now, this volume does state that there is a hefty Continental breakfast (which did interest me), but upon asking there was no breakfast offered. The restaurant The Clock is across the street for breakfast seekers who need food immediately. The hotel is apparently the oldest in Florida and it certainly has a degree of charm creating a nice nostalgic feeling. The room I had was furnished with two beds and bathroom. The Lonely Planet guide does say that the hotel is one of the quietest in Venice, but I caution travelers staying here in that the hotel is located on the 3 lanes (6 lanes total across) Tamiami Trail which has a lot of traffic on it regularly. For the sleeper who needs quiet or just hates to hear traffic, the building is old and the noise does seep in. I was located about 4-5 rooms back from Tamiami Trail. The room itself was clean and certainly was good enough for a night. The beds were ok in terms of comfort. Considering the location, I wouldn't want to spend much more time than that here. There is a small pool here and I did see a laundry room. However, since it is on the commercial mecca of Tamiami Trail, you should have no problem finding anything you need nearby. The price was terrific at less than $80. I don't believe the lady at the front desk really enjoyed her job.

Room Tip: Try to be as far away from Tamiami Trail as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tazaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

We only stayed one night, but the price was the best in town and we only wanted a bed to sleep on. We had a King Room with a king bed that was very comfortable. The room was Florida block with paint on it, but adequate. The ceiling was wooden and had a nice varnish on it. The room was clean, but very small. Just enough room for the bed, a small table and a nightstand, and small fridge and microwave. The wifi worked fine.

The only complaint is the extremely small bathroom with a tiny toilet and a very small stand up shower with curtain and barely any water pressure. Also, they have a pool, but it is very tiny too.

The staff was very friendly and the hotel is dog friendly. They also have a Keurig coffee maker in office with free coffee.

I would stay there again, but only for a night or two at the most.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leester2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I guess this is what motels looked like in the 50'ies?
Rather run down and old fashioned. Some would propably find excactly that very charming.
We arrived very late and the lady had been very helpful about making sure we could get our room after the desk closed. Points for that.
The pool area was bizarre in an extremely kitchy way. A point for that too.
The rest we were not too impressed with. But clean and fine for a night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This place had some appeal, taking the traveler back to the days of small, independent motels. We requested a room that would accommodate 3 adults, and the room we were given was very small, the bathroom even smaller. The location was great, the price was better than most in the Venice area. I don't know that i would recommend this place to most travelers - make sure you know what you are getting - especially in the room size. Old style A/C was very noisy, ended up turning it off at night. Free WIFI was very spotty.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I have stayed here 3-4 times over the past 3 years. All the good things people have said are true -- very friendly, comfortable 'old Florida' charm, etc. Some points to make:
1. Very reasonable rates off season, but high season, you'd be better off renting a small condo for a little more money.
2. Easy walk to downtown, but a solid mile to the beach.
3. It's "on the island," but it's located on a medium busy part of Rte. 41. The place is low key, but the small highway is there. Warm & pretty property lighting at night
4. The rooms can be "quaintly funky," but there is a range of configurations. Some have more beds, but very tight. Some have a better "kitchenette area," etc. Ask about these things when you make a reservation. If there are vacancies, they are happy to let you look, and make your choice.
5. The pool area is small, but charming and quite usable. Bathrooms & floor space is limited, as well. they make the most of their space.
6. This place is very 1950's. If you're looking for modern hotel with the usual amenities, this is not it.
7. Again... great for a few days, but there might better choices for longer stays, and/or those wanting to be close to the beach.
8. This all being said -- I love Venice Island, and am very fond of the Island Breeze. I would go again.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank Dockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We choose the Island Breeze because of the reviews and the photos online. So, happy we weren't disappointed!! As soon as we came up to the place my husband and I were happy and excited to see that it backed up what the reviews stated and the photos. The place is awesome.....our room was so nice, clean and smelled great! We saw some others and they also held up to the same as our room. The pool area was so nice also! It was such a homey place, we just knew we were coming back instantly when we were checking and once we got to the room it was a defiant!! The gentleman that took care of us at the office was so nice and pleasant, Thank you for all his help and information he gave my husband. Keep up the great job in keeping the Island Breeze the way it is and up to great standards.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank negra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel is a great value! The room was spotless and smelled great (a VERY important feature for us). The staff takes alot of pride in maintaining the property. Everyone is extremely friendly. We opted for a king efficiency which has a fridge, microwave, toaster & coffee maker. They even have real dishes and cutlery. We came to Venice for the first time to look for shark's teeth. The hotel is a very short drive to the beaches. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Killian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
0.4 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
167 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#6 of 13 in Venice
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#1 of 13 in Venice
1,382 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Breeze Inn

Address: 340 Tamiami Trl S, Venice, FL 34285-2422
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $73 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Venice Island, Florida, the Island Breeze Inn offers sparkling rooms full of charm, modern amenities, and exceptional customer service! Just blocks from palm tree-lined avenues full of antique shops, boutiques, and cafes, and only one mile to beautiful Venice Beach, the Island Breeze Inn is the BEST VALUE in the historic district! Free parking, free cable TV and Wi-Fi?, Heated pool, microwave and refrigerator in each room...The friendliest staff and our manager on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Island Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Breeze Inn Of Venice Hotel Venice
Island Breeze Hotel Venice
Island Breeze Motel Venice
Island Breeze Inn Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing