We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #118 of 240 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I had the strawberry salad & the turkey sandwich...my bro had the cheeseburger quesadillas & onion rings. It was good for the price...inexpensive! Our server Jason was good. Overall a good experience. We eat here once every few months.

Helpful?
Thank Labedaelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    16
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
587 reviews
561 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,774 helpful votes
“SERVICE AND FOOD WERE ABSOLUTELY GREAT!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

A friend of mine invited me here for my birthday - for lunch, and there is now a new menu which gives you 3 great choices for prices that EVERYONE can afford. I chose the soup (broccoli with cheese ) and the shrimp/pasta. Both were phenomenal. When my friend mentioned to Nathan, our terrific waiter, that it was my birthday, he must have told the manager. This kind manager not only treated me to a birthday dessert, but comped my friend's dessert as well. Now how can you beat that? Highly recommend this Applebee's - it was just fantastic!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mamamia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Food very good but building getting shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We like Applebee's, very good value for the quality of food it serves. However in the past 6 months since we last visited this restaurant the furnishings and fittings have started to deteriorate quite badly. Worst of all is the ladies restroom which is really badly needing refurbished. My wife said it was awful. Food was fine and our server was excellent but both were let down by the building. Overheard someone else commenting on the condition of the place and they were told that the management had requested funds on numerous occasions for a refit but it had been denied. If you compare the Venice outlet to the Applebee's in Ellenton then you would almost think that they were owned by 2 different companies. The rating is pulled down simply by the state of the building.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ryp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
587 reviews
561 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,774 helpful votes
“LOVE THE NEW MENU ITEMS, WORTH CHECKING OUT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I had not been here for a while and was happy when a friend suggested we meet here for dinner. The new item I was specifically referring to was the Shrimp Pasta Dish, absolutely outstanding. Kim, our waitress, gave us excellent service, and the manager stopped by to check on us as well. My friend ordered the combination shrimp and steak dinner, and she too was very happy with her choice. Definitely will return soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mamamia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
587 reviews
561 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,774 helpful votes
“STOP COMPLAINING - THE 2 FOR $20.00 MEALS ARE GREAT BARGAINS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I cannot believe reading some of these other reviews. For $20.00 I had a fabulous meal, one to take home for tomorrow as well as a scrumptious appetizer... what's not to love. Service was excellent, a young man named Jason was extremely attentive and I have absolutely nothing to complain about. Food was great, price was right, so I don't know what some people have to complain about, honestly!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mamamia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing