We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very good but building getting shabby”
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #128 of 243 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Food very good but building getting shabby”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We like Applebee's, very good value for the quality of food it serves. However in the past 6 months since we last visited this restaurant the furnishings and fittings have started to deteriorate quite badly. Worst of all is the ladies restroom which is really badly needing refurbished. My wife said it was awful. Food was fine and our server was excellent but both were let down by the building. Overheard someone else commenting on the condition of the place and they were told that the management had requested funds on numerous occasions for a refit but it had been denied. If you compare the Venice outlet to the Applebee's in Ellenton then you would almost think that they were owned by 2 different companies. The rating is pulled down simply by the state of the building.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    38
    17
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
614 reviews
586 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,875 helpful votes
“LOVE THE NEW MENU ITEMS, WORTH CHECKING OUT”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I had not been here for a while and was happy when a friend suggested we meet here for dinner. The new item I was specifically referring to was the Shrimp Pasta Dish, absolutely outstanding. Kim, our waitress, gave us excellent service, and the manager stopped by to check on us as well. My friend ordered the combination shrimp and steak dinner, and she too was very happy with her choice. Definitely will return soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamamia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
614 reviews
586 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,875 helpful votes
“STOP COMPLAINING - THE 2 FOR $20.00 MEALS ARE GREAT BARGAINS”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I cannot believe reading some of these other reviews. For $20.00 I had a fabulous meal, one to take home for tomorrow as well as a scrumptious appetizer... what's not to love. Service was excellent, a young man named Jason was extremely attentive and I have absolutely nothing to complain about. Food was great, price was right, so I don't know what some people have to complain about, honestly!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mamamia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They don't have 2 for 1 drinks anymore!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

If u guys want 2 for 1 drinks at this silly so so eats, go elsewhere! Seem that Venice area bar and eatrys only wants maximum profits from u hard working guys and elder snowbirds from their stale food and so so drinks that doesn't bother give u buzz! Best bet go Sarasota or Port Charlotte for your hard earned money's worth!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good local bar restaurant, not fancy”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a typical Applebee's - nothing extraordinary but they don't claim to be. If Tripadvisor had a "Good" rating it would be more appropriate. It's good for a quick neighbourhood drink or meal, the two for $20 specials are particularly recommended especially the sirloin. It's not fine dining but the service is usually good and the meals good value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thetechpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing