We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gold Rush BBQ

Gold Rush BBQ
Ranked #9 of 241 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Gold Rush BBQ is a family own and operated restaurant located in Venice Florida for 15 years. Each year we have been voted best BBQ in Venice. We offer Ribs, Chicken, Steak, Sandwiches and Fresh Seafood. Dine in , Carry out and catering is available. Hope to see you soon !
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is top-notch BBQ. My wife order ribs and they were meaty and not fatty. I had the pulled beef combo and it was excellent. Sides were good, corn bread very good. Will go back when we are in the area!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    247
    54
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistently GREAT BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Gold Rush since they opened and return for the great food, friendly and efficient service & staff and wonderful value. Every time we go to another BBQ place we always compare it Gold Rush. It is very family friendly and,although a bit noisy, they can accommodate larger parties. Our favorite is the luncheon special--$5.50 for a pulled pork sandwich with a side--a large portion of tender, lean BBQ pork. I choose to get it without a bun because I LOVE their cornbread:)
All the sides are good and it all tastes great with the 99cent light beer!! Worth giving it a try.

Helpful?
3 Thank Puggy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food and Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I was part of a group that went to eat here. Most people had a great variety of dishes and I had the Mahi Mahi sandwich. The fried onion appetizer was really good and I do plan on going back to get some more. I really enjoyed the ambiance of the place which will keep the children occupied until their meals get there. Our service was great too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank revreikind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BARBQ the way it was is now!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

If you like tender pulled pork/beef brisket with no gristle or fat and taste like you patiently smoked it yourself, than Gold Rush family restaurant is for you!! The entire wait staff is your server and are always friendly, helpful and "fast". Ordered the combo beef/pork platter served in a tin like cake pan. Order the mac&cheese as a side and than get another one...puts Kraft to shame. The cornbread was fantastic...the best I tasted since being a kid. Prices are very reasonable and the portions require a good appetite. Enjoy!!!! JD of Sebring

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimg33870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
228 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Menu and Friendly Family Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We frequent Gold Rush typically on Sundays after church. Love their BBQ platters, and the sides are just as good as the entree. Out-of-this world white mac and cheese ! Delicious cucumber and tomato salad. Sweet cornbread. Restaurant is family owned, and they obviously care about friendly service as much as their food. The only complaint I have is that it's always COLD in the restaurant. We've taken guests there and they've enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank veggiegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Rush BBQ also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gold Rush BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing