We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Entertainment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of T J Carney's

T J Carney's
Ranked #90 of 240 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
205 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went to this restaurant with out of town friends, who liked entertainment from last year. Service is quick and food very good-perfect date night; dinner and show.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rose913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    94
    58
    27
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A lot of people like it - I had bad chili”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is on the main drag of Venice and is easy to get in and out of. The atmosphere is fantastic. My only trip in for lunch was to eat a bowl of chili at the bar. It tasted like it had metal in it -- a very bad taste and I never went back. Probably not a good review since I didn't try it more than once, but the chili was expensive and no one asked "how's your lunch"....
Won't go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dribar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RIP!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Don't know how the person wrote a review on 7/16/2013 because as of 7/15/2013 the place closed forever! Supposed to reopen in a couple months as the Brew House. RIP

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Garmy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jenn, great barmaid, fabulous Drinks, very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great drinks , barmaid Jen was so friendly and she was running around doing many diffrent jobs, but still very on top of the bar!!... Good food and great drinks, very friendly and helpful to us asking about Venice .. We were told they are closing to remodel and then open as a sports bar!.. Bad move, we only came in because it was an Irish bar, and then stayed for 2 hrs, enjoying talking with the bartender Jen, not to mention the best strawberry mojoitos we ever had!.. Sad to hear it will be no more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeek1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lively place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a meal here and enjoyed the food we ordered, it was fresh and well cooked! They had a band playing so we stayed for Irish coffees and even had a couple of dances!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHEILAEILEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T J Carney's also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to T J Carney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing