We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of T J Carney's

T J Carney's
Ranked #90 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went here for after dinner cocktail. Warmly greeted by bartender. Mix of people, but all friendly. Drinks reasonably priced. Had great entertainment Ken McBride Irish pianist and singer playing contemporary for this group songs and adding humor. Owner was riding staff hard and creating some stress on them. Felt bad for our waitress who was extremely busy and being watched closely. Don't have inside perspective but she was a very good bartender multitasking as they often do. She clearly though was not happy but did not affect her service. Wife went out of way to comment to owners wife what an excellent bartender we had. If you are looking for a good place to relax with friends and have a good time this is it. Cannot comment on food but people seemed to be ordering hamburgers everywhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    101
    63
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
South Venice, Florida
1 review
“Love Jennifer the Best Bartender!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been going here for yrs, but the bartender Jen is the best they have ever had since we have been going over the last 6 yrs!!! We almost gave up on the place a yr ago due to bad bartenders over and over, always having new ones each time we would go. Then we met Jen, and she has been there for some time now. We love her always so friendly to everyone and works no stop and knows her bar and her costomers, as she sees us walking in our drinks are already being made and on bar waiting for us!!!!!!! And we see as we sit there for an hour or two that she dose this for most of her guest, it just gives it that home town bar feeling its great we love this! If your looking for a home town bar w the Cheers feeling this is your bar then,Jenn is great and she knows her drinks,always making yummy cocktails to prefection.....Hope this helps you make your choice to vist T.j. carneys.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“T J Carney”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Is very centrally located amongs the shops. Nice decration and good tables outside. The fish and chips was well done and I liked the cole slaw. Good service. You wold never guess it's owned by the same person that owns Pinneaples Restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Estie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A fun restaurant with a great bar. Service was excellent and our appetizers were very good. Try something different with the Irish Wanton app. Bar staff was very good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wylee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“THE BEST HAMBURGER IN VENICE, FLORIDA”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hamburgers, french fries & onion rings! If you are looking for a casual dining experience, this is your kind of place!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank skdflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T J Carney's also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to T J Carney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing