We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little restaurant”
Review of Althea's - CLOSED

Althea's
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good little restaurant”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Little restaurant just off the main Venice avenue. Good food at reasonable prices. We had a delicious half a duck and Maine lobster tails. Both dishes were very tasty. Good service with a smile.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toronto_CanadaEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    93
    38
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stopped in for lunch with my wife after walking around town. For some reason we had never dined here and decided to give it a try. Our waitress was fantastic, she was polite, friendly and really took pride in her job. When we had menu questions she knew the menu and ingredients well. I chose the fish and chips and it was fantastic. My wife had a soup and sandwich, fresh roasted in house turkey. We both enjoyed the experience, atmosphere and service. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snorkler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great French Toast”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

A group of 12 of us had brunch here after church. To our surprise, we we seated very quickly. Service was a little slow as they had only one server handling our group, but she took good care of us. I had the traditional french toast which consisted of 3 large slices of what I think was sourdough bread. Whatever it was, it was excellent! My wife had a parfait and she felt like there was not enough yogurt or granola compared to fruit; however, it was large and she enjoyed it. This was our first visit to Althea's, and I imagine we will be back, although with all of the good restaurants in Venice, it is fun trying others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjrunderwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Large menu with nice atmosphere”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

You can eat inside or on a nice patio on front. 5 of us ate their recently and were seated immediately-other restaurants had 90 minute waits. We all liked our meals -especially the pot roast. You won't be wowed but you will have a good meal
The onion ring appetizer was tasty but skimpy for the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spiketon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Value”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I took her parents here for New Years Eve. My in-laws are regulars and told us to expect a wonderful meal. It was everything they said it would be. I had the chicken Marsala which, at my request, they prepared as a pasta dish. The chicken was tender, the mushrooms plentiful and the sauce very savory. My wife and mother in law had the lobster tails while my father in law had the Seafood Fra Diablo. They all raved about their dishes. Not only were all of the entrees great, they were reasonably priced.
I heartily recommend Althea's. You won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Althea's also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing