We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently a great dining experience”
Review of Cafe Venice

Cafe Venice
Ranked #20 of 252 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are an intimate bistro style restaurant located in the Historic District of Downtown Venice. Our Menu is Continental with a French and Polynesian flair. Don't let the name fool you-this is not an Italian restaurant. Walk or Bike to local shops and beaches and parks. Outside dining is available. Reservations accepted and walk ins welcome. Separate Lunch and Dinner Menu. Casual Fine Dining and Wine Bar (we do offer a full bar). We are very close to Venice Little Theatre now known as Venice Theatre. We are happy to accommodate all Theatre diners. Restaurant and full service catering are available. Lunch 11:30-3:00 (Mon - Sat),Dinner open at 5 (Mon - Sat),Sunday hours are dinner only (SEASONALLY)-call for availability. We serve a smaller menu between 3pm and 5pm outside or at the bar as well.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Cafe Venice is our first choice when looking for a great dining experience. The entree choices offer variety, the wine selection is great at reasonable prices, the atmosphere is relaxing, and best of all, the service is superb. Scott, the chef, makes one of the best picatta sauces, and he is always willing to make it the way I like.

The Chilean sea bass is one of the best I have had outside of Chicago and San Francisco.

Cafe Venice is our "go-to" restaurant in this part of Florida.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Aww...Shucks! Many thanks for the great review...I'll be sure to share your kudos w/all of the staff and Scott! Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit with us-and we appreciate your business!

Cheers,
Michelle L-PR/Catering/Events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 424 of 634 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Another restaurant in town recommended Cafe Venice because they couldn't seat us. We ordered escargot, stuffed portabella mushroom, Caesar salad, and crab cakes. Everything was delicious, the service was very professional. A bit pricey but worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MrsHeath9911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're glad we were able to accommodate you this busy time of year and also glad to hear another local spot recommended you to come to us! Most important though, is that you enjoyed your meal...the escargot just makes my mouth water just thinking about it, and I'm glad you enjoyed our non-traditional recipe with the Cafe Venice twist.

We will look forward to having you join us again and thanks again for the nice write up!
Michelle L-PR/Catering/Events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stopped while driving through for lunch. Loved Venice and this cafe. Husband's hamburger and my chicken caprice were both delicious. Edamame salad and French fries yummy!

1  Thank CranPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Glad to hear that you enjoyed! Stop back next time you're in town! and save travels,
Michelle L-PR/Catering/Events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was a classy little spot. We all enjoyed our meals. The food presentation was very nice and all were very tasty. Only down side was they only served beer or wine. reservations are needed.

1  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and presentation. Yes, we do only serve wine and beer...you will find many places that cannot get the full liquor license in the state of Florida due to how many seats they have in the establishment...but we do have a great wine list and try to keep a select amount of beer for the beer drinkers.

We accept dinner reservations for all size parties! Hope to see you back soon.
Cheers,
Michelle L-PR/Catering/Events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I had lunch here while shopping downtown during a weekday. We were seated promptly, and the service was excellent. Our food came faster than I can remember at any restaurant. The waitresses and guys who deliver the food move faster than in any restaurant we have visited! My wife enjoyed her basil tomato soup, and my quiche and creamy spinach soup were quite good although both could have been hotter. Based on other reviews, we should try dinner here, but we don't have much time before we head back north, so we might have to wait until next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mjrunderwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you liked your lunch choices and that you noticed our staff was moving to get everyone accommodated...we do try! If you ever need a hotter plate of food...we can make that happen in a jiffy..just ask your server or bus boy, or any of the staff walking around to take care of that for you and we'd be happy to accommodate you! Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Venice and do hope you'll give us a try for dinner. We always accept dinner reservations, so we'll look forward to serving you!

Thanks again and bon appetit,
Michelle L-PR/Catering/Events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Venice also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing