We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food but noisy place when busy.”
Review of Cafe Venice

Cafe Venice
Ranked #17 of 242 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are an intimate bistro style restaurant located in the Historic District of Downtown Venice. Our Menu is Continental with a French and Polynesian flair. Don't let the name fool you-this is not an Italian restaurant. Walk or Bike to local shops and beaches and parks. Outside dining is available. Reservations accepted and walk ins welcome. Separate Lunch and Dinner Menu. Casual Fine Dining and Wine Bar (we do offer a full bar). We are very close to Venice Little Theatre now known as Venice Theatre. We are happy to accommodate all Theatre diners. Restaurant and full service catering are available. Lunch 11:30-3:00 (Mon - Sat),Dinner open at 5 (Mon - Sat),Sunday hours are dinner only (SEASONALLY)-call for availability. We serve a smaller menu between 3pm and 5pm outside or at the bar as well.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good food but noisy place when busy.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The food took a long time to arrive on a Wed. evening. The place was very busy, we had reservations and shown to a table immediately. My filet mignon was one of the best I've had. It melted in my mouth. I should have asked for the sauce on the side so I could savor the meat. The back room by the bar was so loud we couldn't hear ourselves speak. There should have been better sound proofing. If anyone wears a hearing aid at this place, I feel sorry for them because the noise level is deafening!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verjim28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your filet...and yes we can gladly add any of our homemade sauces to the side.

This busy time of year we call the "height of season"...so it does get very busy for our little restaurant and certainly does get loud. Last year we added sound panels to our ceiling and they have helped tremendously---but when it's as busy as it is this time of year...it most certainly can be on the louder side. The good news is that we take dinner reservations and not everyone in town does....so you can always plan to dine w/us before the peak hours so that it's not as busy and you can enjoy your guest. I recommend 5:00 reservations..and sometimes even 7:45 to 8:00 reservations for a quieter dining experience....just let us know and we'll be glad to accommodate you!

Thanks for your patience during the rush of season..and we're glad to hear the food was worth the wait!

All our best,
Michelle L-PR/Catering/Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    162
    60
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Merion Station, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth finding a parking space”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The quality of the food and service supersede a first impression of this Venice. Try the salads at lunch - you'll still feel guilty for eating too much, but it's all good for you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for the nice review! I will share the feedback with our chefs. We do take pride in fresh and qualityfood....be sure and check us out for dinner for a nice treat. We have a great wine list too...(parking is hard during this crazy seasonal time in a tourist town)...but the good news is that you can always park farther away and get in touch w/the local Venice Street Legal golf cart services who drop people off and at a very reasonable rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly over rated”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Selected this restaurant because of high rating on TA. What a disappointment. My entree and my husbands were bland and looked liked a buffet meal. Zero presentation Did not find any reason to ever come back

Helpful?
Thank hwtraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am very sorry you found your visit to our restaurant so disappointing. You can always tell us during your visit, that way we have a chance on making it better for you. We pride ourselves on flavorful delicious fresh meals! Please, try us again so we can "wow" you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I just spent 5 days in Venice, and had lunch at the Cafe Venice 3 times. Their salads and sandwiches are reasonably priced (for Venice) and the taste and quality is excellent. Spinach salad and Mediterranean salads are terrific as are the turkey sandwiches. Busy seemingly all the time, but the short wait is worth it. Service staff is friendly and outgoing!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kenkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for joining us 3 times during your stay!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your lunches so much. All our salads are always a big hit with our homemade dressings and fresh produce! Our turkey breast is roasted and carved here too! Please, come back next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch on Monday. I had grilled chicken blt and my wife had the 1/2 sandwich and soup. Sandwich was the home made chicken salad which was the best ever. Meal was great, we will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for the nice review....glad to hear you enjoyed everything and we'll look for you on your next visit with us!

Cheers,
Michelle L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Venice also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing