We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sat Mar.2/13”
Review of Cafe Venice

Cafe Venice
Ranked #16 of 247 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are an intimate bistro style restaurant located in the Historic District of Downtown Venice. Our Menu is Continental with a French and Polynesian flair. Don't let the name fool you-this is not an Italian restaurant. Walk or Bike to local shops and beaches and parks. Outside dining is available. Reservations accepted and walk ins welcome. Separate Lunch and Dinner Menu. Casual Fine Dining and Wine Bar (we do offer a full bar). We are very close to Venice Little Theatre now known as Venice Theatre. We are happy to accommodate all Theatre diners. Restaurant and full service catering are available. Lunch 11:30-3:00 (Mon - Sat),Dinner open at 5 (Mon - Sat),Sunday hours are dinner only (SEASONALLY)-call for availability. We serve a smaller menu between 3pm and 5pm outside or at the bar as well.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had dinner reservations 7.30 pm Arrived 7.15 and seated about 7.30. We ordered two glasses of wine and served promptly. When the drinks were served we ordered our meals. The two specials for the day. The meal was served 3/4 of an hour later. Very, very disappointing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. If you arrived 15 minutes early for your reservation chances are your table would not be ready until the reserved time, as we try very very hard to time out our seatings. It is a difficult strategy and sometimes even with a reservation people may have to wait a few minutes-especially during the height of season which is the time that you came. Not sure what wine you ordered, but was glad to hear that you were served promptly. I'm also not certain if you had multiple courses, but all of our dinners are prepared fresh to order. 45 minutes does sound like a long time to wait for fresh prepared food, and I'm not aware of any tables who waited that long this Saturday, however if you did not have a first course, I'm sure it may have seemed that long. This time of year, when it's filled every night with reservations and we still get walk ins- we simply put a smile on and try to keep each guest happy and feel lucky to be able to serve them, as many places you are turned away. Our kitchen is very small, and we feel they work miracles in there to get the food out to the guests. Thanks again for your feedback. You may want to consider coming in at the first seating (5:00pm) when it's less busy. You will still wait as everything is prepared fresh to order, but the wait may be less and it will be less busy inside the cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 443 of 585 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ambiance enjoyable, food delicious and servers attentive without hovering. We savored our escargots appetizer which was different from our experience as it also contained minced sun-dried tomatoes in the garlic butter. My choice of Chilean Sea Bass was wonderful and my husband's Chicken Scallopine Merengo topped with Sautéed Crimini Mushrooms was delicious he said. Wine selection ample and our Merlot choice was a good one. Since we are not dessert people we cannot comment. We will continue to return to Cafe Venice. .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 732DeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for the nice write up, and we're delighted that you were happy with everything. We do try our best to make it a pleasant experience for all of our diners!

I just said this to someone the other day...next time they come in...have dessert first-that way they save room! Hopefully you'll be able to stop in again and enjoy one of our homemade desserts or gelato.

Bon Appetite,
Michelle L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant day to sit outside, opens for lunch
We had a variety of menu items, all ok but nothing was great. Waitress seemed a bit stressed out and had an attitude

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank getofftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. Did you try one of our fresh salads with homemade chicken salad? I'm not sure what you had-but we have an entire selection of fresh made to order sandwiches, as well as salads which can be topped with anything from homemade chicken salad to seared tuna or shrimp-we try to offer something for everyone. I'm unable to pinpoint which server you feel had an attitute, as they all strive to do an excellent job for each guest. My only guess is that perhaps you arrived in peak time, or your server was as we sometimes say ïn the weeds" Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to share with me what you felt like the poor attitude was so that I may correct that for the future.
Michelle L
Bon Appetite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Live in downtown Sarasota & we eat here about once a month usually lunch. The " fresh catch " is a very small and thin piece of fish. I doubt it will weigh 3 oz. It was once upon a time a nice thick piece. So if you order a salad with the $6 fresh catch,just don't expect much. But its a very good resturant ...my wife had the grilled chicken BLT and it was very good. Ron

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eronpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. Just to clarify our serving sizes for you. If you order a fresh catch sandwich (Mahi Sandwich) for $12 it will contain an 8 oz serving of fish. If you order a piece of fish topped to a fresh salad, you will indeed get a smaller portion-you will get a 4 oz serving for a $6 upcharge. I apologize for the pricing structure-we cannot control the cost of goods-what we do want to offer is the chance for each guest to enjoy whatever dish they wish. At any time, if you want a larger portion of fish added to a fresh salad-simply mention to your server that you want the full size sandwich portion and you will pay $12 upcharge for that 8oz portion. I have had guests do that from time to time, who want more of a dinner size portion. I am not sure what you had in the past, it may have been pre-cost increases--however again, as we do not control the costs of goods, we just have to price things out accordingly. We have an array of fresh made to order sandwiches, as well as a selection of fresh salads that you can top anything from grilled shrimp to chicken to fish to a homemade crabcake to. Hopefully there will be something for everyone.
Bon Appetite,
Michelle L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice menu, lovely bartender. Wine list is weak. Also, beware of the $5 plate charge if you choose to split a dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DrBob201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay k, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Venice, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We do try to have both a moderate to extensive wine list availabe in order to accommodate each guests budget. I'm not sure if you had the opportunity to view our reserve list-but it has some really great buys with some truly excellent choices. (And just a side note-our mark up is lower than many other local restaurants). We do charge a $5 per person split charge which allows us to cover the costs of the additional side dishes when the chef plates each dish with sides and splits the protein. We feel that it's very reasonable to charge the 5$ split plate charge for that reason. Our apologies that you found it unfair, but we need to cover our costs on food as well. I'm glad you enjoyed the food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Venice also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing